Le Programme des mémoires de survivants de l’Holocauste

Eva Felsenburg Marx

Survivor Video

More Information

Map

Né(e)
21 octobre 1937 Brno, Tchécoslovaquie

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigré(e)
1949 Montréal

Deux fillettes, nées à six mois d’écart et dans des pays différents, sont plongées brutalement dans la tourmente et la terreur de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Filles uniques, elles connaissent des parcours remarquablement similaires, Judit en Hongrie et Eva en Tchécoslovaquie. Séparées de leurs parents, obligées de se faire passer pour des chrétiennes, confrontées à des situations qui les dépassent, les deux fillettes vivent une enfance qui restera marquée à jamais par l’Holocauste. Leurs mémoires évoquent de manière expressive et personnelle les parcours parallèles et néanmoins uniques de ces deux enfants qui ont survécu là où tant d’autres ont péri.

À propos de Eva

Eva Marx est née à Brno, en Tchécoslovaquie, le 21 octobre 1937. En 1949, elle a immigré à Montréal, où elle est devenue enseignante au primaire. Elle et son mari, Herbert Marx, juge à la Cour supérieure du Québec, maintenant à la retraite, vivent à Montréal. Ils ont deux enfants et quatre petits-enfants.

Photos et Objets

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Le grand-père paternel d’Eva, Heinrich Felsenburg.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Les arrière-grands-parents d’Eva, Ignacz et Rosa Berceller Rosenbaum.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Le grand-père maternel d’Eva, Gabriel (Gabor) Weisz.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    La grand-mère maternelle, Sari Rosenbaum Weisz.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Le livre de prières qui a sauvé la vie du grand-père paternel d’Eva, Gabor Weisz, lorsqu’il a été atteint à la poitrine par une balle pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    La mère d’Eva, Helen (Ilonka) Weisz, à gauche, avec sa soeur cadette, Hedi. Vers 1916.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Le père d’Eva, Eugene (Jenö) Felsenburg, debout à l’extrême droite, lorsqu’il servait dans l’armée austro-hongroise durant la Première Guerre mondiale. 1918.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Les parents d’Eva, Helen et Eugene Felsenburg. 1929.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Cette carte postale envoyée à Eva en 1980 par sa nourrice dévouée, Marka Piesikova, montre à quoi ressemblait la rue principale de Vráble avant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva à l’âge de 2 ans environ, peu après son arrivée à Vráble, avec sa tante Hedi (à gauche), sa mère (au centre) et sa grand-mère, Sari Weisz. 1939.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    La famille maternelle d’Eva à Paks, en 1940. Deuxième à partir de la gauche, son grand-oncle, Wilie Rosenbaum; troisième à partir de la gauche, sa mère; Eva est au centre à côté de sa grand-mère, Sari Weisz; et, troisième à partir de la droite, le grand-oncle d’Eva, Matyi.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva (au centre) avec ses amies. Vráble, vers 1942.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva, âgée d’environ 5 ans. Vráble, 1942.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    La nourrice d’Eva, Marka Piesikova. 1944.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva (troisième à partir de la droite) lors d’une fête de Pourim, après la guerre. Brno, 1947.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva, au fond à droite, à l’âge de 10 ans, avec ses amis Karl Hanak (à gauche), Rudy Hanak (deuxième à partir de la gauche) et Jiří Kadlec. Konĕšín, Tchécoslovaquie, 1948.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva et son amie Jiří. Brno, 1948.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva (à gauche), avec sa tante Hedvig (au centre), la sœur aînée de son père, et sa mère (à droite) au parc du Mont-Royal. C’est tante Hedvig qui a parrainé l’immigration de la famille Felsenburg au Canada. Montréal, 1949.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva, âgée de 11 ans. Brno, 1949.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva à l’âge de 19 ans avec sa mère, lors de la remise de son diplôme du Collège Macdonald. Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Québec, 1956.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    La ville natale d’Eva, Brno, avec une vue sur la forteresse du Spielberg à l’arrière-plan. 1987.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Le grand magasin Dom Moderné Brnĕnký (DMB) – « La Maison de la femme moderne de Brno » – où les parents d’Eva avaient leur commerce de fourrures avant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Brno, 1987.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    La maison des grands-parents d’Eva à Vráble, en Slovaquie. 1987.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    La famille d’Eva au mariage de sa fille Sarah. De gauche à droite : (à l’arrière-plan) le mari d’Eva, Herbert Marx; et son gendre, Andrew Shalit; (rangée du centre) Sarah; le fils d’Eva, Robert; la femme de Robert, Rena; et Eva; (assise devant) la mère d’Eva, Helen Felsenburg. 1995.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Les 95 ans de mère d’Eva, Helen Felsenburg. Montréal, 2003.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Les petites-filles d’Eva, Ella (à gauche), 9 ans, et Hannah, 6 ans. 2010.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Les petits-fils d’Eva, Harry, 6 ans, et David, 1 an. 2011.

Le livre

Cover of Retenue par un fil / Une question de chance

Retenue par un fil / Une question de chance

J’avais toujours aimé les jeux d’imagination, mais ils m’avaient fait comprendre que celui-ci était bien réel. Je n’ai jamais trahi mon secret.

More Survivors

Close

Retenue par un fil / Une question de chance

Alors que la guerre faisait rage autour de nous, nous avons entendu à la BBC que les Allemands perdaient du terrain et se repliaient. Nous en avons été ravis. On aurait pu penser que les Allemands auraient concentré leurs efforts sur la manière de consolider leur force, mais au lieu de cela, ils continuaient à être obsédés par l’anéantissement des Juifs. Ils faisaient du porte-à-porte, fouillant les maisons à la recherche de Juifs cachés. Ils ont perquisitionné notre immeuble et sont montés jusqu’au troisième étage.

Une veuve, dont feu le mari avait été Juif, vivait au troisième étage, juste au-dessous du nôtre. Elle connaissait notre présence à l’étage au-dessus et manifestait sa sympathie à l’égard de notre situation. Une fois que les ss eurent fouillé son appartement, elle leur a dit avec désinvolture : « Ce n’est pas la peine de monter, il n’y a personne au-dessus. » Heureusement, les ss ont suivi son conseil et n’ont pas cherché plus loin. Il s’en était fallu de peu. L’aimable veuve avait risqué sa vie pour sauver les nôtres.

Fin mars 1945, lorsque l’Armée rouge a marché sur Vienne pour attaquer les bastions allemands, le conflit sanglant a explosé en Slovaquie. À Nitra, les sirènes ont retenti pour avertir la population qu’il fallait se rendre aux abris au moment où les bombes soviétiques ont commencé à tomber alentour. Nous entendions le vrombissement des bombardiers et le sifflement de leur cargaison mortelle audessus de nous, mais nous n’avions aucun endroit où nous mettre à couvert. Nous avions peur de fuir : en tant que Juifs, il nous fallait rester cachés mais il était trop dangereux de demeurer dans l’appartement. Nous avons alors pris conscience que le moment était venu d’abandonner notre cachette. Nous étions terrifiés à l’idée que l’on nous reconnaisse comme Juifs, mais nous n’avions pas le choix. Nous nous sommes habillés aussi discrètement que possible et nous avons quitté l’appartement où nous ne sommes jamais retournés.

Les gens fuyaient Nitra, emportant ce qu’ils pouvaient, cherchant à s’abriter contre des bombes qui étaient principalement dirigées sur le centre de la ville. Nous formions une masse humaine en mouvement. Juifs et non-Juifs s’enfuyaient à toutes jambes en direction du mont Zobor.

Mon père avait une peur tout à fait compréhensible qu’on nous repère en tant que Juifs et qu’on nous prenne pour cible. Je me souviens que je portais un fichu bleu et qu’il m’a alors crié : « Enlève ça ! Ne sais-tu pas que le bleu est une couleur juive ? » La tension engendrait une véritable paranoïa.

Nous avons marché péniblement toute la journée, essayant d’échapper aux bombardements et à la dévastation qui avaient enveloppé Nitra. Maisons et immeubles n’étaient plus que ruines autour de nous. Les déflagrations, le crépitement des tirs d’artillerie et le hurlement des sirènes nous accompagnaient. Au cours de ce long et difficile périple qui nous a conduits vers la montagne, les trois familles de notre groupe sont restées ensemble. Au moment où la nuit est tombée, nous avons trouvé une grotte. Bien qu’humide et froide, elle nous a servi d’abri. Pendant cette longue nuit, j’ai dormi dans le giron de ma mère. Reconnaissante de son amour et de sa protection, je me souviens encore de la tendre attention aimante et désintéressée, du sacrifice dont elle m’a fait bénéficier. Je savais combien cela avait dû être inconfortable pour elle et combien elle avait peu dormi dans cet affreux endroit.

Au matin, nous avons repris notre long et difficile chemin sans avoir idée de notre destination. Nous savions seulement qu’il nous fallait fuir, essayer de rester en vie, éviter les bombes qui tombaient autour de nous et espérer ne pas être abattus par les Allemands. Soudain, alors que nous étions au plus profond de la forêt, nous sommes tombés sur un grand édifice tout en bois. Nous avons vite compris qu’il s’agissait d’un monastère. Là, en pleine montagne, au beau milieu de la forêt, nous étions arrivés par hasard au monastère de Zobor, un havre de sécurité potentiel. Nous étions exténués et avions désespérément besoin d’un refuge, de nourriture et de répit. Comment allait-on nous accueillir ?

Nous avons frappé à la grande porte d’entrée. Un moine, revêtu d’une longue soutane brune, est apparu. À la vue de notre groupe débraillé et épuisé, il nous a aimablement laissés entrer. Il a dû immédiatement comprendre que nous étions des Juifs en fuite. Il nous a conduits à l’étage dans une vaste pièce confortable où il y avait assez de lits pour nous tous. Il nous a expliqué que, puisque nous étions juifs, il nous laissait la jouissance privée de ces quartiers. Il y avait apparemment aussi de nombreux réfugiés non juifs de Nitra dans le vaste rez-de-chaussée du monastère. Nous nous sommes allongés avec gratitude pour nous reposer, soulagés d’avoir trouvé un sanctuaire.

The Holocaust Survivor Memoirs Program

Eva Felsenburg Marx

Survivor Video

More Information

Map

Born
October 21, 1937 Brno, Czechoslovakia

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigrated
1949 Montreal, Quebec

Two Jewish girls born six months apart – Judit Grünfeld (Judy Abrams) in Hungary and Eva Felsenburg (Marx) in Czechoslovakia – are separated from their parents and forced to "pass" as Christian children. Theirs are the amazingly parallel but unique stories of two children who were able to survive when so many others perished.

About Eva

Eva Marx was born in Brno, Czechoslovakia, on October 21, 1937. She immigrated to Montreal in 1949, where she became an elementary school teacher. She and her husband, retired Quebec Superior Court Justice Herbert Marx, live in Montreal. They have two children and four grandchildren.

Photos and Artifacts

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's paternal grandfather, Heinrich Felsenburg.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's maternal great-grandparents, Ignacz and Rosa Berceller Rosenbaum.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's maternal grandfather, Gabriel (Gabor) Weisz.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's maternal grandmother, Sari Rosenbaum Weisz.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    The prayer book that saved the life of Eva's paternal grandfather, Gabor Weisz, when he was shot during World War I.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's mother, Helen (Ilonka) Weisz, left, with her younger sister, Hedi, circa 1916.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's father, Eugene (Jenö) Felsenburg, standing on the far right, when he served in the Austro-Hungarian army during World War I. 1918.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's parents, Helen and Eugene Felsenburg, in 1929.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    This postcard, sent to Eva in 1980 from her devoted caregiver Marka Piesikova, shows what Vráble’s main street looked like before World War II.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva at about two years old, soon after her arrival in Vráble, with her aunt Hedi (left), her mother (centre) and her grandmother, Sari Weisz, 1939.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's maternal relatives in Paks, 1940. Second from the left is her second cousin, Wilie Rosenbaum; third from the left is her mother; Eva is standing in the centre beside her grandmother, Sari Weisz; and third from the right is Eva’s great-uncle Matyi.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva (centre) with her friends in Vráble, circa 1942.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva at about five years old in Vráble, 1942.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's caregiver, Marka Piesikova, in 1944.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva (third from right) at a Purim party after the war. Brno, 1947.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva, far right, at ten years old with her friends Karl Hanak (left), Rudy Hanak (second from the left) and Jiří Kadlec. Konĕšín, Czechoslovakia, 1948.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva and her friend Jiří in Brno, 1948.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva (left), with her aunt Hedvig (centre), her father’s eldest sister, and her mother (right) on Mount Royal. It was Aunt Hedvig who sponsored the Felsenburg family’s immigration to Canada. Montreal, 1949.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva at age eleven in Brno, 1949.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva at nineteen years old with her mother at Eva’s graduation from MacDonald College. Ste. Anne de Bellevue, Quebec, 1956.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's hometown of Brno, with a view of the Spielberg Castle in the background. 1987.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    The department store Dom Moderne Brnĕnký (DMB) – “The House of the Modern Brnoesse” – where Eva’s parents had their fur boutique before World War II. Brno, 1987.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's grandparents’ house in Vráble, Slovakia. 1987.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's family at her daughter Sarah’s wedding. Left to right: (back row) Eva’s husband, Herbert Marx, and son-in-law, Andrew Shalit; (middle row) Sarah; Eva’s son, Robert; Robert’s wife, Rena, and Eva; (seated in front) Eva’s mother, Helen Felsenburg. 1995.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's mother, Helen, celebrating her ninety-fifth birthday. Montreal, 2003.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's granddaughters Ella (left), nine, and Hannah (right), six. 2010.

  • Eva Felsenburg Marx larger image and caption

    Eva's grandsons Harry, six, and David, one. 2011.

The Book

Cover of Tenuous Threads/One of the Lucky Ones

Tenuous Threads/One of the Lucky Ones

My mother always credited my father for his keen instinct of self-preservation. “He saved our lives,” she said. “Without him we wouldn’t be here.”

More Survivors

Close

Tenuous Threads/One of the Lucky Ones

Seeking Sanctuary

As the war raged around us, we heard on the bbc that the Germans were losing ground and in retreat. We were overjoyed. One would have thought that the Germans would concentrate their efforts on ways to shore up their strength. Instead, they continued to obsess about annihilating Jews. They went door to door, searching houses for hidden Jews, Jews who had gotten away. They searched our apartment building and went as far as the third floor.

A widow whose late husband was Jewish lived on the third floor apartment, located directly below ours. She knew about our presence upstairs and was sympathetic to our situation. After the SS searched her home, she said casually, “Don’t bother going upstairs. There’s nobody there.” Fortunately, the SS listened to her and didn’t search any further. That was a narrow escape. The kind widow had risked her life and saved ours.

At the end of March 1945, the bloody conflict of war exploded in Slovakia as the Soviet Red Army pushed its way toward Vienna to attack German strongholds. Sirens blared in Nitra, warning the population to take shelter as a blitz of Soviet bombs fell all around. Airplanes carrying their deadly cargo shrieked above us, but we had nowhere to take cover. During the bombings we were afraid to flee; as Jews, we had to remain hidden. But at the same time, it was too dangerous to remain in the apartment. So we realized that the time had come to abandon our hiding place. We were terrified that we would be identified as Jews, but we had no choice. We dressed as unobtrusively as we could and left the apartment, never to return.

People streamed out of Nitra, carrying what they could, searching for shelter from the bombs that were mainly directed at urban areas. We were a mass of moving humanity. Jews and gentiles alike ran for their lives, travelling on foot in the direction of Mount Zobor.

My father was understandably nervous that we would be spotted and singled out as Jews. I remember that I wore a blue kerchief and he shouted at me, “Take that off! Don’t you know blue is a Jewish colour?” How paranoid one could become under stress.

We trudged all day, trying to escape the bombardments and devastation that had enveloped Nitra. Houses and buildings lay in ruins all around us. Explosions and the sounds of gunfire and sirens accompanied us. We three fugitive families stayed together on this long and painful trek that led us to the mountain. As night fell, we found a deserted cave. Damp and cold as it was, it had to do as our shelter. I slept on my mother’s lap all through that long night. Grateful for her love and protection, I still recall her selfless, tender loving care and self-sacrifice. I knew how uncomfortable she must have been and how little sleep she got in that God-forsaken place.

In the morning, we continued our long and difficult journey, although we didn’t know our destination. All we knew was that we were fugitives trying to stay alive, avoiding the bombs falling around us and hoping we wouldn’t be shot by the Germans. Suddenly, deep in the forest, we came upon a large, wooden building that we soon realized was a monastery. There, on the mountain, in the middle of the forest, we had come upon the Zobor monastery, a potential safe haven. We were bone-tired and in desperate need of shelter, food and respite. What kind of reception would we get?

We knocked on the large front door. A monk in a long, brown cassock appeared at the entrance. When he saw our dishevelled and exhausted appearance, he kindly let us in. He must have realized immediately that we were Jews on the run. He ushered us upstairs into a large, comfortable room with enough beds for all of us. He explained that because we were Jews, he would allow us the privacy of these quarters. Apparently, there were also many non-Jewish refugees from Nitra on the large ground floor of the monastery. We gratefully lay down to rest, relieved to have been given sanctuary