Le Programme des mémoires de survivants de l’Holocauste

Leslie Mezei

More Information

Map

Né(e)
09 juillet 1931 Gödöllő, Hongrie

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

immigré(e)
1948 Toronto

Leslie Mezei, garçon de 12 ans enjoué et curieux, ne prend pas la mesure de la menace qui pèse sur sa vie en tant que Juif durant l’occupation allemande de la Hongrie en 1944. Si Magda, sa sœur aînée, consciente du danger que représentent les nazis et les fascistes, décide courageusement de prendre en charge la survie de sa famille, sa sœur Klari, tenace et déterminée, doit faire face à une rude épreuve. Confrontés à la déportation et aux camps de concentration, vivant dans la peur constante d’être capturés, les enfants Mezei doivent braver les réalités éprouvantes de la Hongrie en période de guerre. Au terme du conflit, les membres de la famille se réunissent brièvement, avant d’emprunter des chemin différents pour refaire leurs vies. C’est à Montréal que Leslie rencontre sa femme, Annie, elle aussi rescapée de l’Holocauste. Dans Destins croisés, les voix de Leslie, Magda, Klari et Annie, s’enchevêtrent pour former le tissu d’une mémoire collective faite de courage, de résilience, et du désir de se reconstruire.

En savoir plus sur Leslie

Leslie Mezei est né le 9 juillet 1931 à Gödöllő, en Hongrie. Il a émigré au Canada en 1948, où il a terminé ses études secondaires, avant d’obtenir un baccalauréat en mathématiques et physique à l’Université McGill, puis une maîtrise en météorologie à l’Université de Toronto. Après avoir travaillé entre 1955 et 1965 comme analyste et programmeur de systèmes informatiques, Leslie est devenu professeur d’informatique à l’Université de Toronto. Considéré comme un pionnier dans le domaine de l’art numérique, ses articles ont paru régulièrement dans les revues Computers and Automation et Artscanada. Leslie a également mis au point deux nouveaux langages de programmation graphique, et créé des œuvres d’art numérique novatrices, exposées à l’international. En 1953, il a épousé Annie Wasserman avec qui il a eu deux enfants. Sa femme est décédée en 1977. Aujourd’hui, Leslie vit à Toronto avec son épouse Kathy, entourés de leurs cinq enfants et onze petits-enfants. Depuis 25 ans, il est engagé au sein de mouvements interconfessionnels et interspirituels pour lesquels il s’est vu décerner cinq prix. En outre, il a dirigé durant de nombreuses années la publication du journal Interfaith Unity News, dont la mission consiste à faire passer un message d’unité dans la diversité.

Photos et Artefacts

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption
  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

Le livre

Cover of Destins croisés (traduction française à venir)

Destins croisés (traduction française à venir)

Je l’ai échappé belle à de nombreuses reprises, et je pense aujourd’hui que la survie en ces temps difficiles dépendait d’un esprit vif, d’évasions miraculeuses et d’une forte volonté de vivre.

Explorer l'histoire de Leslie dans Re:Collection

More Survivors

Close

Destins croisés (traduction française à venir)

Un jour, je suis allé rendre visite à un ami qui habitait l’immeuble où notre famille avait vécu avant de fuir à Budapest. Pendant que je m’y trouvais, un détachement de soldats hongrois est entré dans la cour intérieure du bâtiment et a aligné tous les Juifs qui habitaient l’immeuble pour les embarquer. Tandis que je me dirigeais vers la porte de sortie, un soldat m’a arrêté. 

 « Où vas-tu comme ça ?

– Je pars. Je ne vis pas ici.

– Mais tu es juif ! s’est-il exclamé après m’avoir fusillé du regard.

– Non, je ne suis pas juif », lui ai-je répondu.

– Dans ce cas, que fais-tu ici ? »

Je savais qu’en lui avouant que je rendais visite à un ami juif, je ne m’attirerais que des ennuis. Heureusement, je me suis souvenu que des sirènes annonçant des raids aériens avaient retenti juste avant l’arrivée des soldats. « Je me suis réfugié ici dès que j’ai entendu l’alerte. »

Un officier est alors arrivé et le soldat lui a raconté ma version des faits. « Oh, ne t’embête pas avec ça. Laisse-le partir », lui a-t-il ordonné. 

Alors qu’il me conduisait vers la sortie, le soldat m’a dit : « Je pense tout de même que tu es juif. »

Je lui ai répliqué avec arrogance que l’erreur était humaine et je suis reparti, libre.            

J’étais si fier de ma présence d’esprit face au soldat que cette histoire a plus tard fait l’objet de mon premier texte publié, paru dans mon album des finissants. Ce n’est qu’au cours de ces dernières années que j’ai réalisé la gravité de la situation : j’aurais pu être capturé par les soldats hongrois et ma famille n’aurait jamais rien su de mon sort funeste. Je l’ai échappé belle à de nombreuses reprises, et je pense aujourd’hui que la survie en ces temps difficiles dépendait d’un esprit vif, d’évasions miraculeuses et d’une forte volonté de vivre. Mais je n’en étais pas concient à l’époque ; nous faisions tout simplement le nécessaire pour subsister.

The Holocaust Survivor Memoirs Program

Leslie Mezei

More Information

Map

Born
July 09, 1931 Gödöllő, Hungary

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigrated
1948 Toronto

Twelve-year-old Leslie Mezei, a lively, curious boy, doesn’t realize how precarious his life is as a Jew in German-occupied Hungary in 1944. His older sister Magda, aware of the growing danger from Nazis and Hungarian fascists, takes charge and bravely tries to direct the family’s survival, while his sister Klari, tough and determined, faces a brutal ordeal of her own. Confronting deportation, concentration camps and the constant threat of capture, the Mezei siblings carefully navigate the treacherous landscape of wartime Hungary. After the war, the family reunites briefly before setting out in different directions to start new lives, and in Montreal, Leslie meets his wife, Annie, who has a survival story of her own. In A Tapestry of Survival the voices of Leslie, Magda, Klari and Annie are woven together to reveal a larger tale of courage, resilience and the search for healing.

About Leslie

Leslie Mezei was born on July 9, 1931, in Gödöllő, Hungary. In 1948 Leslie arrived in Canada, where he completed high school and then graduated with a bachelor’s in mathematics and physics from McGill University and a master’s in meteorology from the University of Toronto. After working as a systems analyst and manager from 1955–1965, Leslie became a professor of computer science at the University of Toronto. An early pioneer in the field of computer art, Leslie’s articles were regularly published in Computers and Automation and Artscanada. He also developed two new graphic programming languages and produced innovative computer art, which was exhibited internationally. Leslie married Annie Wasserman in 1953 and raised two children with her before she passed away in 1977. Since then, Leslie has been living with his wife, Kathy, in Toronto, enjoying the time with their five children and eleven grandchildren. He has been involved in the interfaith and interspiritual movements for twenty-five years and has been the recipient of five awards. For a number of years he published the Interfaith Unity News, with a mission to promote the message of unity in diversity.

Photos and Artifacts

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie’s parents, Julia Katalin Engel Mezei and Dr. Mano Mezei (born Messinger). Hungary, 1920s.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie’s paternal grandmother, Maria Felsenburg. Hódmezővásárhely, Hungary, 1937.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie (right) with his brother Louis (Lali), holding their nephew, Adamka. Budapest, 1944.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie’s sister Klari. Budapest, 1944.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie’s sister Klari, after liberation from the Mauthausen concentration camp; man unknown. Mauthausen, Austria, 1945.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie’s sister Magda (Miriam). Munich, Germany, 1946.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie’s mother, Julia Mezei. Israel, circa 1950.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    The armband Leslie wore on his way to Canada. January 1948.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie’s future wife, Annie. Paraguay, 1948.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie. Montreal, 1949.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie and his soon-to-be wife, Annie. Montreal, 1952.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie and Annie at their wedding. Toronto, 1953.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    From left to right (in front): Leslie’s wife, Annie, holding their daughter, Frances; Annie’s cousin Fela, holding Leslie’s son, Michael; Leslie; and Annie’s uncle Izsio. From left to right (in back): Annie’s mother, Ziuta; Annie’s aunt Lola; Annie’s cousin Eva; Annie’s aunt Mila; Annie’s father, Dr. David Wasserman; and Leslie’s brother Louis. Toronto, 1962.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie in front of a computer with his pioneering computer art. Toronto, 1967.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    From left to right (in front): Leslie’s sister Magda (Miriam); Leslie’s mother, Julia; and Leslie’s sister Klari. Standing (in back): Klari’s daughter Dorit; Miriam’s daughter, Nava; Leslie’s brother Louis; Louis’s wife, Tara; and Klari’s daughter Tami. Jerusalem, circa 1970s.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Arriving in Haifa by boat. From left to right: unknown; Leslie’s wife, Annie; unknown friend; Leslie’s sister Klari; Klari’s daughter Tami: Leslie’s daughter, Frances; Leslie’s son, Michael; Leslie’s sister Miriam; and Miriam’s daughter, Nava. Israel, 1971.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie with his sisters, Klari and Miriam, and his brother Louis. Jerusalem, 1993.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie with the then resident of his family’s old home on Horthy Miklós Ut. Gödöllő, Hungary, 1991.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie’s brother Louis at Erzsébet szobor, a statue of Elisabeth of Hungary, Empress of Austria (“Sissi”), in Erzsébet Park. Gödöllő, Hungary, 1995.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie at a memorial rock formation erected in honour of Erzsébet Királyné, Empress Elisabeth of Hungary, in Erzsébet Park. Gödöllő, Hungary, 2000.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie receiving the Scarboro Missions Golden Rule Ambassador Award. Toronto, 2006.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie at the altar of the Universal Worship Service. Toronto, 2010.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie with his son, Michael, and his daughter, Frances. Toronto, 2015.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    The children of Leslie and his wife, Kathy. From left to right: Leslie’s son, Michael; Kathy’s son Patrick; Leslie’s daughter, Frances; Kathy’s daughter, Rean; and Kathy’s son Sean. Toronto, 2015.

  • Leslie Mezei larger image and caption

    Leslie and his wife, Kathy. Morocco, 2018.

The Book

Cover of A Tapestry of Survival

A Tapestry of Survival

There were many close calls, and I think it took quick thinking and miraculous escapes to survive those times, as well as a strong will to live.

More Survivors

Close

A Tapestry of Survival

One day I went to visit a friend in the apartment house in which we had first lived when we fled to Budapest. While I was there, a troop of Hungarian soldiers came in to the centre courtyard of the building and were lining up all the Jews to take them away. I started walking toward the exit gate. A soldier stopped me.

“Where are you going?”

“I’m leaving. I don’t live here.”

He scowled at me, “But you’re a Jew!”

“No, I’m not,” I said.

“So what are you doing here?”

I knew that telling him that I was visiting a Jewish friend would not help my cause. Just in time I remembered that air-raid sirens had sounded right before the soldiers arrived. “I came in when the air-raid sirens started.”

An officer came by, and the soldier told him my story. “Aw, don’t bother. Let him go,” he said.

As the soldier escorted me to the exit, he said, “I still think you’re a Jew.”

And I replied cockily, “To err is human,” and walked out to freedom.

I was so proud of my cleverness that this story later became my first piece of published writing, in my high school yearbook. It is only in the last few years that I allowed myself to realize how close I was to being taken away by the Hungarian soldiers; my family would never have found out what had happened to me. There were many close calls, and I think it took quick thinking and miraculous escapes to survive those times, as well as a strong will to live. But I was not aware of these things at the time. We all just did what we had to.