Le Programme des mémoires de survivants de l’Holocauste

John Freund

Survivor Video

More Information

Map

Né(e)
06 juin 1930 České Budějovice, Tchécoslovaquie

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

immigré(e)
1948 Toronto

Enfant, John Freund aimait le football et l’écriture. La Fin du printemps raconte comment son enfance joyeuse fut basculé après l’invasion par les nazis de son pays d’origine, la Tchécoslovaquie. Espérant au début que le conflit et les persécutions prendraient rapidement fin, sa famille a enduré l’érosion systématique de ses droits et ce, jusqu’à sa déportation vers Theresienstadt, avant d’être conduite au camp de la mort d’Auschwitz. Le récit des souffrances de John Freund et de la perte de son innocence sont d’autant plus poignants que ses mémoires témoignent d’une foi inébranlable en l’humanité, d’un optimisme constant et de la détermination de l’auteur à refaire sa vie au Canada.

À propos de John

John Freund est né en 1930 à České Budějovice, une ville de Tchécoslovaquie située au sud de Prague. Libéré par les troupes américaines en 1945, il a immigré au Canada en mars 1948. John et sa femme, Nora, vivent à Toronto.

Photos et Artefacts

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John Freund, bébé, sa mère Erna, ainsi que son frère aîné Karel. České Budějovice, 1930.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Erna Jung Freund, la mère de John, à l’âge de 19 ans. Pisek, Tchécoslovaquie, 1917.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Leopold Jung, l’oncle maternel de John Freund, avec sa femme Manja et leurs enfants, Eva et Hannah (que John ne peut identifier individuellement). Prague, 1938.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John Freund, âgé d’environ 10 ans (au premier plan) en compagnie d’autres enfants juifs. À part John, le seul autre survivant est le garçon portant un haut noir, dont la mère n’était pas juive. České Budějovice, 1940.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John Freund à l’âge de 10 ans. České Budějovice, 1941.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Des enfants juifs de la ville natale de John Freund; ils s’étaient autoproclamés les solelim (les bâtisseurs). John (à l’extrême droite) et le deuxième garçon à partir de la gauche sont les seuls à avoir survécu. České Budějovice, 1941.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Illustration où l’on reconnaît John qui s’adonne au passe-temps préféré de son enfance. Cette illustration est extraite du magazine Klepy (Potins), dont chaque numéro a été réalisé et illustré à la main durant les étés 1940 et 1941 par John Freund et ses amis. Les numéros originaux sont conservés au Musée juif de Prague (Židovské muzeum v Praze). Le magazine avait pour mission de « (…) prouver que nous conservons un esprit sain et un bon sens de l’humour; que nous ne sommes pas amoindris par les difficultés quotidiennes; et que nous sommes capables, dans les moments où nous nous reposons de notre labeur, de plaisanter et de nous occuper à des choses qui en valent la peine. »

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Illustration où l’on reconnaît le frère de John, Karel, et la petite amie de ce dernier, Susan Kopperl; la légende de l’illustration se traduit par : « Tu es unique au monde. » Cette illustration est extraite du magazine Klepy (Potins), dont chaque numéro a été réalisé et illustré à la main durant les étés 1940 et 1941 par John Freund et ses amis. Les numéros originaux sont conservés au Musée juif de Prague (Židovské muzeum v Praze). Le magazine avait pour mission de « (…) prouver que nous conservons un esprit sain et un bon sens de l’humour; que nous ne sommes pas amoindris par les difficultés quotidiennes; et que nous sommes capables, dans les moments où nous nous reposons de notre labeur, de plaisanter et de nous occuper à des choses qui en valent la peine. »

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Illustration extraite du magazine Klepy (Potins), dont chaque numéro a été réalisé et illustré à la main durant les étés 1940 et 1941 par John Freund et ses amis. Les numéros originaux sont conservés au Musée juif de Prague (Židovské muzeum v Praze). Le magazine avait pour mission de « (…) prouver que nous conservons un esprit sain et un bon sens de l’humour; que nous ne sommes pas amoindris par les difficultés quotidiennes; et que nous sommes capables, dans les moments où nous nous reposons de notre labeur, de plaisanter et de nous occuper à des choses qui en valent la peine. »

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Illustration extraite du magazine Klepy (Potins), dont chaque numéro a été réalisé et illustré à la main durant les étés 1940 et 1941 par John Freund et ses amis. Les numéros originaux sont conservés au Musée juif de Prague (Židovské muzeum v Praze). Le magazine avait pour mission de « (…) prouver que nous conservons un esprit sain et un bon sens de l’humour; que nous ne sommes pas amoindris par les difficultés quotidiennes; et que nous sommes capables, dans les moments où nous nous reposons de notre labeur, de plaisanter et de nous occuper à des choses qui en valent la peine. »

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Illustration extraite du magazine Klepy (Potins), dont chaque numéro a été réalisé et illustré à la main durant les étés 1940 et 1941 par John Freund et ses amis. Les numéros originaux sont conservés au Musée juif de Prague (Židovské muzeum v Praze). Le magazine avait pour mission de « (…) prouver que nous conservons un esprit sain et un bon sens de l’humour; que nous ne sommes pas amoindris par les difficultés quotidiennes; et que nous sommes capables, dans les moments où nous nous reposons de notre labeur, de plaisanter et de nous occuper à des choses qui en valent la peine. »

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Illustration extraite du magazine Klepy (Potins), dont chaque numéro a été réalisé et illustré à la main durant les étés 1940 et 1941 par John Freund et ses amis. Les numéros originaux sont conservés au Musée juif de Prague (Židovské muzeum v Praze). Le magazine avait pour mission de « (…) prouver que nous conservons un esprit sain et un bon sens de l’humour; que nous ne sommes pas amoindris par les difficultés quotidiennes; et que nous sommes capables, dans les moments où nous nous reposons de notre labeur, de plaisanter et de nous occuper à des choses qui en valent la peine. »

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Illustration extraite du magazine Klepy (Potins), dont chaque numéro a été réalisé et illustré à la main durant les étés 1940 et 1941 par John Freund et ses amis. Les numéros originaux sont conservés au Musée juif de Prague (Židovské muzeum v Praze). Le magazine avait pour mission de « (…) prouver que nous conservons un esprit sain et un bon sens de l’humour; que nous ne sommes pas amoindris par les difficultés quotidiennes; et que nous sommes capables, dans les moments où nous nous reposons de notre labeur, de plaisanter et de nous occuper à des choses qui en valent la peine. »

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Illustration extraite du magazine Klepy (Potins), dont chaque numéro a été réalisé et illustré à la main durant les étés 1940 et 1941 par John Freund et ses amis. Les numéros originaux sont conservés au Musée juif de Prague (Židovské muzeum v Praze). Le magazine avait pour mission de « (…) prouver que nous conservons un esprit sain et un bon sens de l’humour; que nous ne sommes pas amoindris par les difficultés quotidiennes; et que nous sommes capables, dans les moments où nous nous reposons de notre labeur, de plaisanter et de nous occuper à des choses qui en valent la peine. »

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Illustration extraite du magazine Klepy (Potins), dont chaque numéro a été réalisé et illustré à la main durant les étés 1940 et 1941 par John Freund et ses amis. Les numéros originaux sont conservés au Musée juif de Prague (Židovské muzeum v Praze). Le magazine avait pour mission de « (…) prouver que nous conservons un esprit sain et un bon sens de l’humour; que nous ne sommes pas amoindris par les difficultés quotidiennes; et que nous sommes capables, dans les moments où nous nous reposons de notre labeur, de plaisanter et de nous occuper à des choses qui en valent la peine. »

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Le père et la mère de John Freund, Gustav et Erna. Juin 1941.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John (à gauche), à l’âge de 11 ans, avec ses parents, Erna et Gustav, ainsi que son frère aîné, Karel. Vers 1941.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John Freund, âgé de 15 ans, dans une aire de baignade. České Budějovice, 1945.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Tante Anna (Anda), la sœur de la mère de John (Erna), qui habitait en Autriche. Prague, 1946.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John (à droite), avec ses compagnons de voyage Tomy et Miriam, en route pour le Canada à bord de l’Aquitania. 1948.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John, à 18 ans (à droite) avec son ami Tomy Newman, en route pour le Canada à bord de l’Aquitania. Mars 1948. Tomy et John sont toujours amis.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John Freund en face du magasin de beignets Downy-Flake, où il a occupé son premier emploi. Sunnyside, Toronto, 1948.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John Freund, âgé de 20 ans. Toronto, près de l’intersection des rues Bathurst et College, 1950.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    L’immeuble dans lequel John Freund a vécu de sa naissance à 1942. Photo prise par un ami. České Budějovice, 1950.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John Freund et tante Anna, la sœur de son père. Canada, 1959.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John Freund (à droite); ses petits-enfants Jonah, Karly, Jack, Orlee, Michayla, Shira, Arielle, Gideon, Emily et Amanda; et son gendre Daniel Bell (à gauche). Canada, 2006.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John Freund et sa femme Nora. Toronto, 2007.

Le livre

Cover of La fin du printemps
Lauréat de la Médaille d’Or des Independent Publisher Book Awards 2008

La fin du printemps

Vers un nouveau monde, un rêve m’a emporté,
Celui de ne jamais plus voir couler le sang
Mais puis-je vraiment me débarrasser
Des rêves qui ont souillé ma jeunesse?

Explorer l'histoire de John dans Re:Collection

More Survivors

Close

La fin du printemps

Le Départ

En avril 1942, la ville a perdu près d’un millier d’habitants. On nous avait informés que nous devions nous présenter avec nos bagages à un vaste entrepôt situé près de la gare. Les Juifs de Budějovice avaient un sens civique aigu – nous ne faisions pas d’histoires. Nous avions l’habitude de faire ce que l’on nous disait de faire, nous nous sommes donc rendus à l’entrepôt, avons présenté nos documents, des numéros nous ont été attribués et nous nous sommes préparés pour la nuit. Des enfants pleuraient et quelques garçons plus âgés ont commencé à chahuter.

Le jour suivant, on nous a dit de monter à bord d’un train de passagers qui nous emmènerait à un lieu de rassemblement. Notre souci principal était de savoir si ce nouvel endroit se trouvait en Tchécoslovaquie. C’était comme si nous avions moins de souci à nous faire tant que nous restions dans notre propre pays. Lorsque le train s’est mis en branle, nous avons eu pour la première fois l’occasion d’apercevoir les cruels SS (Schutzstaffel, escouade de protection) – les troupes d’élite nazies qui surveillaient les camps de concentration. Ils portaient des uniformes parfaitement repassés et leurs visages avaient des expressions quasi animales. Une de ces bêtes – un officier de haut rang avec de nombreuses étoiles à son revers – a inspecté le train. Aboyant des ordres en allemand, il a donné des coups de poing et des coups de pied à plusieurs personnes qui se trouvaient sur son passage. Le train a filé vers le nord, en direction de Prague, puis vers l’ouest. À la fin de la journée, on nous a débarqués à Terezín, le lieu de rassemblement. Terezín était une ville ancienne et comptait de nombreuses casernes de soldats, des immeubles de briques massifs à trois étages et plusieurs grandes esplanades. Un fossé faisait tout le tour de la ville, ce qui rendait toute tentative d’évasion impossible.

Lors de cette première nuit passée à Terezín, nous avons dormi dans un vaste entrepôt, accolés les uns aux autres, avec juste assez d’espace pour nous déplacer sur la pointe des pieds. Le lendemain, toutes les familles ont été séparées. Les femmes ont été emmenées dans l’une des grandes casernes et les hommes dans une autre. Nous n’avons pas eu beaucoup de temps pour nous dire au revoir car nous devions nous mettre en rang rapidement. La nourriture était distribuée à partir de grands tonneaux dans de petits pots qui étaient attribués à chacun des détenus de Terezín. Notre principal repas quotidien se composait de pain, de pommes de terre et de jus de viande.

Nous sommes restés à Terezín d’avril 1942 à novembre 1943. La ville était de plus en plus surpeuplée avec les convois de Juifs arrivant d’autres parties de la Tchécoslovaquie. Les personnes âgées et les personnes malades ont commencé à mourir rapidement. Chaque matin, nous voyions des corps recouverts de draps blancs être empilés dans des wagons, en attendant d’être transportés au crématorium.

Au début, nous habitions tous dans les casernes, à beaucoup dans une pièce, dormant par terre. Pourtant, en dépit de tout, les enfants trouvaient le moyen de s’amuser un peu. Nous étions autorisés à aller jouer dans la cour, à chanter et à jouer aux devinettes. Je me rappelle un enseignant chantant une chanson qui était sa préférée et ma préférée aussi : « Le printemps reviendra, le mois de mai n’est pas loin. »

The Holocaust Survivor Memoirs Program

John Freund

Survivor Video

More Information

Map

Born
June 06, 1930 České Budějovice, Czechoslovakia

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigrated
1948 Toronto, Ontario

A young boy who loved soccer as much as he loved to write, John Freund found his joyful childhood shattered by the German invasion of Czechoslovakia. John’s family suffered through the systematic erosion of their rights only to be deported to Theresienstadt – en route to the Auschwitz death camp.

About John

John Freund was born in 1930 in České Budějovice, a town located south of Prague, in Czechoslovakia. He was liberated by American troops in 1945 and in March 1948, John immigrated to Toronto. He and his wife, Nora, live in Toronto.

Photos and Artifacts

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John as a baby, mother Erna, and older brother, Karel. České Budějovice, 1930.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Erna Jung Freund, John’s mother, at 19 years old. Pisek, Czechoslovakia, 1917.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    From left to right: Uncle Leopold Jung, brother of John’s mother, Erna, with his wife, Manja, and their children, Eva and Hannah. Prague, 1938.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John, about 10 years old (in front), with other Jewish children. Aside from John, the only survivor is the boy in the black shirt, whose mother was not Jewish. České Budějovice, 1940.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John at ten years old. České Budějovice, 1941.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Jewish children from John’s hometown. Self-named Solelim (The Builders). John (far right) and boy second from left were the only survivors. České Budějovice, 1941.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    An illustration featuring John and his favourite childhood pastime. From the original Klepy (Gossip) magazine, which was hand-drawn and typed by John and his friends over the summers of 1940 and 1941. Original individual copies are held at the Jewish Museum in Prague/Židovské museum v Praze. The magazine’s mission was “[...] to prove that a healthy spirit and sense of humour is within us and that we are not diminished by the difficulties of our days. We are capable, in moments of rest from our labour, to occupy our minds with worthwhile thoughts and humour.”

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    From the original Klepy (Gossip) magazine featuring John’s brother, Karel, and Susan Kopperl, the girl he liked. The text on the illustration reads, “You are the only one on the entire globe.” The magazine was hand-drawn and typed by John and his friends over the summers of 1940 and 1941. Original individual copies are held at the Jewish Museum in Prague/Židovské museum v Praze. The magazine’s mission was “[...] to prove that a healthy spirit and sense of humour is within us and that we are not diminished by the difficulties of our days. We are capable, in moments of rest from our labour, to occupy our minds with worthwhile thoughts and humour.”

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    From the original Klepy (Gossip) magazine, which was hand-drawn and typed by John and his friends over the summers of 1940 and 1941. Original copies are at the Jewish Museum in Prague/Židovské museum v Praze. The magazine’s mission was “[...] to prove that a healthy spirit and sense of humour is within us and that we are not diminished by the difficulties of our days. We are capable, in moments of rest from our labour, to occupy our minds with worthwhile thoughts and humour.”

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    From the original Klepy (Gossip) magazine, which was hand-drawn and typed by John and his friends over the summers of 1940 and 1941. Original copies are at the Jewish Museum in Prague/Židovské museum v Praze. The magazine’s mission was “[...] to prove that a healthy spirit and sense of humour is within us and that we are not diminished by the difficulties of our days. We are capable, in moments of rest from our labour, to occupy our minds with worthwhile thoughts and humour.”

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    From the original Klepy (Gossip) magazine, which was hand-drawn and typed by John and his friends over the summers of 1940 and 1941. Original copies are at the Jewish Museum in Prague/Židovské museum v Praze. The magazine’s mission was “[...] to prove that a healthy spirit and sense of humour is within us and that we are not diminished by the difficulties of our days. We are capable, in moments of rest from our labour, to occupy our minds with worthwhile thoughts and humour.”

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    From the original Klepy (Gossip) magazine, which was hand-drawn and typed by John and his friends over the summers of 1940 and 1941. Original copies are at the Jewish Museum in Prague/Židovské museum v Praze. The magazine’s mission was “[...] to prove that a healthy spirit and sense of humour is within us and that we are not diminished by the difficulties of our days. We are capable, in moments of rest from our labour, to occupy our minds with worthwhile thoughts and humour.”

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    From the original Klepy (Gossip) magazine, which was hand-drawn and typed by John and his friends over the summers of 1940 and 1941. Original copies are at the Jewish Museum in Prague/Židovské museum v Praze. The magazine’s mission was “[...] to prove that a healthy spirit and sense of humour is within us and that we are not diminished by the difficulties of our days. We are capable, in moments of rest from our labour, to occupy our minds with worthwhile thoughts and humour.”

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    From the original Klepy (Gossip) magazine, which was hand-drawn and typed by John and his friends over the summers of 1940 and 1941. Original copies are at the Jewish Museum in Prague/Židovské museum v Praze. The magazine’s mission was “[...] to prove that a healthy spirit and sense of humour is within us and that we are not diminished by the difficulties of our days. We are capable, in moments of rest from our labour, to occupy our minds with worthwhile thoughts and humour.”

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    From the original Klepy (Gossip) magazine, which was hand-drawn and typed by John and his friends over the summers of 1940 and 1941. Original copies are at the Jewish Museum in Prague/Židovské museum v Praze. The magazine’s mission was “[...] to prove that a healthy spirit and sense of humour is within us and that we are not diminished by the difficulties of our days. We are capable, in moments of rest from our labour, to occupy our minds with worthwhile thoughts and humour.”

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John’s father, Gustav, and mother, Erna. June 1941.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John (left), 11 years old, with his parents, Erna and Gustav, and older brother, Karel, circa 1941.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John, 15 years old, at a swimming area. České Budějovice, 1945.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    Aunt Anna (Anda) from Austria, the sister of John's mother, Erna. Prague, 1946.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    En route to Canada aboard SS Aquitania. John is on the right, with his travel companions Tom and Miriam. 1948.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John, 18 years old (right), and friend Tomy Newman (left), aboard SS Aquitania, en route to Canada. March 1948. Tomy and John are still good friends.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John at his first job in front of Downy-Flake Doughnut shop on Sunnyside. Toronto, 1948.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John, 20 years old. Toronto, near Bathurst and College, 1950.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    The building where John lived from birth until 1942. Photo taken by a friend. České Budějovice, 1950.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John and Aunt Anna, John’s father’s sister. Canada, 1959.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John (right) with grandchildren Jonah, Karly, Jack, Orlee, Michayla, Shira, Arielle, Gideon, Emily and Amanda, and Daniel Bell (left), John’s son-in-law. Canada, 2006.

  • John Freund larger image and caption

    John and his wife, Nora. Toronto, 2007.

The Book

Cover of Spring's End
2008 Independent Book Publisher Award Gold Medal Winner

Spring's End

Into a new world I was brought by a dream
Never to see blood spilled again
But can I really throw away
The dreams that soiled my youth?

Explore more of John’s story in Re:Collection

More Survivors

Close

Spring's End

Departure

In April 1942, the population of our town fell by nearly a thousand. We had been notified that we were to appear with our luggage at a large warehouse near the railway station. The Jews of Budějovice were a civilized lot – we did not fuss much. We were used to doing what we were told, so we checked into the warehouse, presented our documents, were assigned numbers and prepared for the night. A few children whimpered and some of the older boys started to fool around.

The next day, we were told to board a passenger train that would take us to a gathering place. Our main worry was whether this new place would be in Czechoslovakia. Somehow there seemed less to worry about as long as we stayed in our own country. As the train began to move, we got our first glimpses of the cruel SS men (Schutzstaffel) – the Nazi elite troops who guarded the concentration camps. They were dressed in perfectly ironed uniforms and had animal-like expressions on their faces. One such beast – a high official with many stars on his uniform – inspected the train. Shouting orders in German, he kicked and slapped several people who got in his way.

The train sped north toward Prague, then west. At the end of the day we were unloaded at the gathering place, Terezín. Terezín was an old town that had many soldiers’ barracks, massive three-storey brick buildings and several large yards. The town had a moat all around it, making escape impossible.

That first night in Terezín we slept in a large warehouse, body to body, with just enough room to move around on our tiptoes. The next day, all the families were separated. Women were moved to one of the large barracks, and men to another. There was not much time to say goodbye as we had to line up quickly. Food was distributed from large barrels into small pots that were assigned to all the inmates in Terezín. Bread, potatoes and gravy comprised our main daily meal.

We stayed in Terezín from April 1942 until November 1943. The town grew more and more crowded from the incoming transports of Jews from other parts of Czechoslovakia. Old people and sick people started dying quickly. Every morning, bodies covered with white sheets were seen piled up in wagons, waiting to be moved to the crematorium.

At first, we all lived in the barracks, many to a room, sleeping on the floor. Somehow, amidst all this, children were allowed a little fun. We were permitted to play in the yard, to sing and play word games. One of my memories is of a teacher who would sing his and my favourite song, “Spring Will Come Again, May Is Not Far Away.”