Le Programme des mémoires de survivants de l’Holocauste

Steve Rotschild

More Information

Map

Né(e)
10 novembre 1933 Vilnius, Lituanie

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigré(e)
1951 Montreal

Steve Rotschild, 10 ans, apprend à se cacher, à être silencieux et tranquille — et à attendre. Il connaît le bruit des bottes de l’armée allemande et sait retenir son souffle jusqu’à ce que les pas s’éloignent. Steve nous emmène dans un voyage captivant à travers son enfance à Vilna, pendant la guerre, juxtaposant avec éloquence son passé fait de sorties furtives du Ghetto, avec ses longues promenades libératrices dans Toronto, 50 ans plus tard. Évoquant de façon vivante ses expériences, cette histoire de survie et d’amour inconditionnel d’une mère marque d’une manière indélébile le lecteur de Des traces de ce qui était.

À propos de Steve

Steve Rotschild est né en 1933, à Vilnius, en Lituanie. Il a immigré en Israël avec sa mère et son beau-père en 1949, et de là, au Canada. Il a épousé Lillian Blumenfeld à Montréal en 1956, et ils se sont ensuite installés à Toronto, où ils ont élevé leurs deux filles. Steve Rotschild, qui vit à Toronto, a cinq petits-enfants.

Photos et Objets

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    La grand-mère paternelle de Steve, Shayneh Galerkin (à l’arrière-plan, à l’extrême droite), avec des amies, à Vilnius avant la guerre. Vers 1920.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Les grands-parents maternels de Steve, Berl et Michleh Goldberg. Vilnius, vers 1920.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Les parents de Steve, Esther et Benzion Galerkin. Vilnius, vers 1930.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve, à l’âge de 3 ans.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Le frère de Steve, Emanuel (Monik), à l’âge d’environ 1 an.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve et sa mère avec la famille Dzeviatnikov. Les Dzeviatnikov, qui ont été les propriétaires de la famille de Steve, ont aidé plus tard ce dernier à se cacher. Debout à l’arrière-plan : M. et Mme Dzeviatnikov; à l’avant-plan, de gauche à droite : Steve; Luba Dzeviatnikov; la mère de Steve, Esther; et Georgic Dzeviatnikov. Vilnius, 1938.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve (à gauche) avec ses cousines Ester (au centre) et Miriam (à droite) après la guerre. Vilnius, 1945.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve et sa mère après la Libération. Vilnius, 1946.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Immeubles du camp de travaux forcés HKP, où Steve jouait pendant que ses parents travaillaient. Photo prise en 1993.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    La cour du 9, rue Szpitalna, dans l’ancien ghetto de Vilnius, où Steve a demeuré après avoir vécu dans la famille Fiodorov. Photo prise par Steve en 1993.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve et sa mère se recueillant sur la tombe de son frère Monik. Cimetière de Vilnius, 1993.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Plaque commémorative sur les lieux de l’ancien camp de travaux forcés HKP. Photo prise en 1993.

Le livre

Cover of Sur les traces du passé

Sur les traces du passé

C’est à la fin de mars 1944, par un jour lumineux et ensoleillé de début de printemps, l’époque du renouveau, que les SS sont venus prendre les enfants.

Explorer l'histoire de Steve dans Re:Collection

More Survivors

Close

Sur les traces du passé

Nous étions à la fin du mois de mars 1944. C’est par une journée froide, claire et ensoleillée, au début du printemps, le temps du renouveau, que les SS sont venus prendre les enfants. Ceux qui ont survécu au camp connaissent cet événement sous son nom allemand : Die Kinderaktion. Ce mot semble avoir une connotation si bienveillante, comme « jardin d’enfants » ou « jeu d’enfants ». Mais en ce jour ensoleillé, c’est pour massacrer les petits que les ss sont venus. Pourquoi ? Parce qu’ils n’étaient d’aucune utilité à l’effort de guerre allemand. Il fallait nourrir ces enfants, mais ils ne produisaient rien en retour.

Nous n’avions pas été avertis, mais dès que l’opération a débuté, la rumeur s’est répandue comme un feu de forêt. Les mères et les pères se sont précipités pour trouver des endroits où cacher leurs enfants. Ma mère connaissait quelqu’un qui avait construit une cachette et nous avons couru pour nous y abriter, mais il n’y avait plus de place.

On entendait le fracas en bas – les nazis fouillaient le moindre recoin. Que faire ? Où se cacher ? Nous nous tenions dans le couloir tandis que les gens passaient devant nous en courant. Ma mère serrait fort Monik dans ses bras, et Miriam s’accrochait à la jupe de Fruma. J’ai alors révélé à ma mère et à Fruma l’existence de notre cachette au grenier et nous nous sommes aussitôt dirigés vers la cage d’escalier, puis nous avons gravi les marches. Il y avait du monde. Certains filaient vers le grenier, d’autres en descendaient.

À l’étage suivant, nous avons croisé un petit garçon que je connaissais mais dont j’ai oublié le nom. Il était plus petit que moi alors qu’il avait à peu près mon âge. C’était un artiste. Il faisait des merveilles avec du papier et un crayon, des dessins étonnants de personnes, d’objets et de paysages. Plutôt solitaire, il ne courait pas avec notre bande et n’était pas au courant de notre cachette. Je lui ai demandé de venir avec nous, mais il est resté là, au coin du palier, pétrifié. Il fallait que j’avance. Je l’ai appelé encore une fois depuis le haut de l’escalier, mais il n’a pas bougé, me fixant de ses grands yeux sombres.

Au grenier, quelques personnes étaient déjà cachées avec leurs enfants derrière la poutre. Ma mère, Miriam, Monik et moi nous sommes empressés de nous faufiler à l’intérieur avant de remettre en place la partie sciée. Fruma est restée dehors pour s’assurer qu’elle ne dépassait pas du reste de la poutre, puis elle est partie. Nous avons rampé aussi loin que possible, jusqu’à l’endroit où le toit en pente rejoignait le plancher, puis nous avons attendu en silence. Pendant longtemps, tout est resté très silencieux, puis nous avons entendu quelqu’un dans le grenier. Il marchait lentement, se rapprochait. Ma mère a serré fort mon petit frère. Personne n’a bougé. J’ai retenu mon souffle. Ce soldat verrait-il l’entaille dans la poutre ? Non, il ne l’a pas vue. Il est bientôt parti. Nous sommes restés pendant un long moment immobiles, à l’écoute, mais personne d’autre n’est venu au grenier. Lentement et en silence, nous avons commencé à nous dégager de ce lieu exigu. J’ai pu regarder à travers l’étroite fente qui séparait le toit du sol. Je voyais le portail et la zone alentour, un camion couvert d’une bâche vert sombre à l’intérieur des barrières et un homme en uniforme qui se tenait à l’arrière du véhicule face à une femme avec un foulard sur la tête et un jeune enfant dans les bras.

Le soldat s’est emparé de l’enfant, mais la femme refusait de le lâcher. Elle a fait mine d’entrer dans le camion avec son petit, mais l’homme l’a repoussée brutalement avant de lui arracher l’enfant des bras pour le placer à l’arrière. Voilà ce que j’ai vu. Voilà ce dont je me souviens.

Combien d’enfants juifs ont-ils emmenés pour les anéantir, sans qu’on sache ce qu’ils auraient pu devenir ? Le petit garçon sur le palier aurait pu être un grand peintre, mais je ne l’ai jamais revu.

The Holocaust Survivor Memoirs Program

Steve Rotschild

More Information

Map

Born
November 10, 1933 Vilna, Lithuania

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigrated
1951 Montreal, Quebec

Ten-year-old Steve Rotschild learns to hide, to be silent, to be still – and to wait. He knows the sound of the Nazis’ army boots and knows to hold his breath until their footsteps recede. Rotschild takes us on a captivating journey through his wartime childhood in Vilna, eloquently juxtaposing his past, furtive walks outside the ghetto with his long, liberating walks through Toronto fifty years after the war. Vividly evoking his experiences, this story of survival and a mother’s tenacious love leaves the reader indelibly marked by Traces of What Was.

About Steve

Steve Rotschild was born in Vilna, Lithuania in 1933. He immigrated to Israel with his mother and stepfather in 1949, and from there to Canada. He married Lillian Blumenfeld in Montreal in 1956; they later moved to Toronto, where they raised their two daughters. Steve Rotschild has five grandchildren and lives in Toronto.

Photos and Artifacts

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve's paternal grandmother, Shayneh Galerkin (back row, far right), with friends in pre-war Vilna. Circa 1920.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve's maternal grandparents, Berl and Michleh Goldberg. Vilna, circa 1920.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve’s parents, Esther and Benzion Galerkin. Vilna, circa 1930.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve, age three.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve's brother, Emanuel (Monik), approximately age one.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve and his mother with the Dzeviatnikov family. The Dzeviatnikovs, once landlords to Steve's family, later helped Steve hide. Standing in back are Mr. and Mrs. Dzeviatnikov; in front, left to right, are Steve; Luba Dzeviatnikov; Steve’s mother, Esther; and Georgic Dzeviatnikov. Vilna, 1938.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve (left) with cousins Ester (centre) and Miriam (right) after the war. Vilna, 1945.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve and his mother after liberation. Vilna, 1946.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    The HKP labour camp buildings, where Steve played while his parents worked, as seen in 1993.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Courtyard of Szpitalna #9 in the former Vilna ghetto, where Steve lived after staying with the Fiodorov family. Photo taken by Steve, 1993.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Steve and his mother visiting his brother Monik’s gravestone in the Vilna cemetery, 1993.

  • Steve Rotschild larger image and caption

    Memorial plaque at the site of the HKP labour camp. 1993.

The Book

Cover of Traces of What Was

Traces of What Was

It was at the end of March 1944, on a cool, bright and sunny day, the beginning of spring, the time of renewal of life, that the SS came to take the children.

Explore more of Steve’s story in Re:Collection

More Survivors

Close

Traces of What Was

Children’s Aktion and the Liquidation

It was at the end of March 1944, on a cool, bright and sunny day, the beginning of spring, the time of renewal of life, that the SS came to take the children. The survivors of the camp know it by its German name, Die Kinderaktion. It sounds so benevolent, like kindergarten or a children’s game, but on that sunny day they came to take the children to be killed. Why? Because they were of no use to the German war effort. The children had to be fed but produced nothing. There was little warning, but word spread like wildfire and mothers and fathers began searching for places to hide their children. Mother knew someone who had built a hiding place and so we ran there, but they had no place for us.

We could hear the commotion from downstairs – the Nazis were searching everywhere. What to do? Where to hide? We were standing in the corridor as people ran by us, with Mother holding Monik tightly in her arms, Miriam clinging to Fruma’s skirt. I told Mother and Fruma about the hiding place in the attic and we ran to the stairwell and up the stairs. There were people there, some rushing up, some down.

At the next landing was a little boy. I knew him. I don’t remember his name but he was about my age, but smaller. He was an artist. He made magic with a pencil and paper, producing amazing drawings of people, objects and landscapes. He mostly kept to himself, did not run with our gang and did not know about our hiding place. I asked him to come with us, but he just stood there in the corner of the landing, frozen. I had to keep moving. Once more I called to him from the top of the stairs, but he remained where he was, staring at me with his large, dark eyes.

Up in the attic some people with children were already hidden behind the beam. Mother, Miriam, Monik and I quickly crawled in and pushed the cut-out log back in place; Fruma remained outside to make sure it was even with the rest of the beam, then left. We crawled as far back as we could, all the way to where the slanting roof met the floor, and waited in silence. For a long time it was very quiet and then we heard the sound of heavy footsteps coming up the stairs, then the sound of someone in the attic, walking slowly, coming closer. Mother held my little brother tightly. No one moved. I held my breath. Would the soldier see the cut in the beam? He didn’t, and soon he was gone. For a long while we lay still and listened but no one else came to the attic. Slowly and quietly, we began moving from our cramped positions. I was able to look through the narrow space between the roof and the floor. I could see the gate and the area around it, a truck covered in dark green canvas inside the gate and a man in uniform standing at the back of the truck, facing a woman with a kerchief on her head who held a young child in her arms.

The soldier took hold of the child but the woman wouldn’t let go; she made as if to go in the truck with her child, but the man shoved her hard and wrenched the child from her and put the child in the back of the truck. That’s what I saw; that’s what I remember.

How many Jewish children did they take to be destroyed, their worth unknown? The boy on the landing might have been a great painter. But I never saw him again.