Le Programme des mémoires de survivants de l’Holocauste

Arthur Ney

Survivor Video

More Information

Map

Né(e)
25 juin 1930 Warsaw, Pologne

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigré(e)
1948 Montreal

Juste avant l’Insurrection du ghetto de Varsovie au printemps 1943, Arthur Ney, 12 ans, parvient à s’enfuir à la campagne sous la fausse identité d’un Polonais chrétien. De retour à Varsovie des mois plus tard, il apprend que sa famille a disparu. Il passe le reste de la guerre dans un orphelinat catholique, luttant contre la solitude, la culpabilité et la peur. Le 1er août 1944, quand éclate l’Insurrection de Varsovie – désignée sous le nom de code Heure W –, il rejoint les barricades et combat pour la liberté.

À propos de Arthur

Arthur Ney est né à Varsovie le 25 juin 1930. Il est arrivé au Canada en 1948 et s’est installé à Montréal, où il s’est marié et a fondé une famille. Arthur Ney est décédé en 2016.

Photos et Objets

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    La mère d’Arthur Ney, Pola Ney-Holcman, avec Arthur, nouveau-né, dans ses bras. Varsovie, 1930.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    Jerzy Ney, le père d’Arthur.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    La famille Ney à Varsovie. De gauche à droite : Pola Ney-Holcman, la mère d’Arthur; Arthur; et Jerzy Ney, son père; au premier rang : la sœur d’Arthur, Eugenia. Pologne, 1932.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    Arthur et sa sœur Eugenia. Pologne, vers 1933.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    Les parents d’Arthur, Pola et Jerzy Ney.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    Arthur (à l’avant-plan) avec sa famille. De gauche à droite : Jerzy Ney, son père; Eugenia, sa sœur; Pola Ney-Holcman, sa mère; et sa grand-mère paternelle, Henia Ney. Pologne, 1936.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    La sœur d’Arthur, Eugenia, à 14 ans, juste avant la guerre. Varsovie, 1939.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    Arthur à la tour Eiffel avec sa tante Ronia et son oncle Józiek, après la guerre. Paris, 1947.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    Arthur, à l’avant-plan, au centre, durant des vacances d’été avec des amis au camp Otoreke (YMCA) dans les Laurentides. Saint-Adolphe-d’Howard, Québec, vers 1950.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    Arthur (à gauche) avec son cousin Benjamin Roskies, dont la famille a parrainé l’immigration d’Arthur au Canada. Montréal, 1952.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    La première femme d’Arthur, Susan, avec leur fils Stephen. Montréal, 1957.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    Arthur, avec son fils David, âgé de 1 an, et son fils Stephen, âgé de 5 ans.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    Retrouvailles d’Arthur avec Franciszek Puchała, le cultivateur qui l’a recueilli à Runów en 1943. Pologne, 1988.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    Retrouvailles d’Arthur avec le père Ignaczewski, directeur de l’orphelinat salésien qui a hébergé Arthur en 1945. Szczaki, 1988.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    Arthur, de retour à Varsovie en 1988.

  • Arthur Ney larger image and caption

    Arthur en compagnie d’élèves au Musée commémoratif de l’Holocauste à Montréal, 2012.

Le livre

Cover of Heure W

Heure W

Deux catastrophes évitées de justesse en un jour : l’Insurrection n’avait rien à voir avec les jeux de cowboys auxquels Józek et moi jouions avant la guerre. Il s’agissait d’une vraie bataille, avec de vrais morts et de vrais blessés.

Explorer l'histoire de Arthur dans Re:Collection

More Survivors

Close

Heure W

L’été approchait à grands pas et avec lui la puissante armée soviétique. Les raids aériens se produisaient désormais quotidiennement. Dès que la défense aérienne allemande détectait des avions au-dessus de Varsovie, les sirènes retentissaient, puis les projecteurs allemands balayaient le ciel. Peu après, le vrombissement des avions se faisait entendre et la lumière brillante des projectiles antiaériens venait se mêler aux faisceaux des projecteurs. Une scène spectaculaire. Nous avions inventé un nouveau jeu : parier sur le sort de chaque avion et sur le nombre de cibles qu’atteindraient les artilleurs. Mais les avions soviétiques qui se dirigeaient vers Berlin volaient trop haut.

Après avoir été témoin de quelques-uns de ces raids aériens, j’ai vu mon excitation se transformer en d’incessants gargouillements d’estomac. Mon état émotionnel se nourrissait de prédictions, de spéculations et de bribes d’informations concernant ce qui se passait autour de nous. Les rumeurs les plus folles disaient que les Américains s’apprêtaient à larguer des milliers de parachutistes au beau milieu de Varsovie ; que l’armée soviétique se trouvait déjà de l’autre côté de la Vistule, préparée à coordonner son attaque terrestre avec les parachutistes américains ; et que les partisans étaient prêts à sortir des forêts pour prendre le contrôle des ponts de Varsovie afin de faciliter l’entrée des troupes soviétiques dans la ville. Il s’est avéré que cette dernière rumeur était fondée sur un véritable accord conclu entre la résistance polonaise et l’armée soviétique.

Le 1er août 1944 a été une journée de grande fébrilité et de totale confusion. Le père Stefanowski m’avait demandé de me rendre à une certaine adresse pour aller chercher des hosties pour la communion et j’étais tout excité de voir par moi-même ce qui se passait dans les rues. Des groupes de jeunes, hommes et femmes, ainsi que quelques adultes, se tenaient près des murs fraîchement placardés d’affiches de différents formats. Après m’être assuré qu’il n’y avait ni soldats allemands ni agents de la Gestapo en vue, je me suis approché d’une affiche : on appelait le peuple polonais à s’insurger et à se joindre à l’un des groupes de résistance qui se battaient pour la libération de Varsovie et de la Pologne. On y proclamait que la « guerre sainte » était imminente. D’autres affiches affirmaient que l’armée soviétique et des contingents polonais traverseraient la Vistule pour participer à l’Insurrection.

Exalté par tout cela et retenant des larmes de joie, j’ai aperçu nombre de jeunes hommes avec une arme à l’épaule sous leur veste ouverte. Beaucoup d’entre eux portaient un brassard rouge et blanc frappé des initiales d’un parti politique. Aucun n’était en uniforme, mais pour moi, il s’agissait des soldats les mieux vêtus et les mieux équipés que j’aie jamais vus. Ils regardaient leur montre à tout moment, ce qui confirmait à mes yeux que l’insurrection allait bien être déclenchée à 17 heures comme l’annonçaient certaines affiches.

Une fois parvenu à destination, j’ai regardé de nouveau les affiches pour évaluer le temps qu’il me restait, puis je suis revenu en courant dans les rues à présent désertes. Il n’y avait manifestement plus de patrouilleurs allemands. Par contre, des véhicules remplis de soldats allemands armés jusqu’aux dents filaient à toute allure, sirènes hurlantes ; d’énormes mitrailleuses antiaériennes prêtes à l’emploi, bandes de cartouches engagées, étaient montées à l’avant et à l’arrière de chaque camion.

À l’orphelinat, tout le monde était déjà au courant. On nous a dit de nous préparer pour 17 heures. Il restait très peu de temps. Étant parmi les plus grands de l’orphelinat, j’avais peu de camarades de mon âge, mais nous avons tous commencé à discuter de ce qu’il convenait de faire. Nous nous sommes vite aperçus que nous avions tous un plan différent et en fin de compte, seuls deux d’entre nous souhaitaient s’enrôler, dont moi. J’étais très enthousiaste à l’idée de me battre : je voulais aider à libérer mon pays et j’avais soif de vengeance. Cependant, je ne pouvais dire à personne que ma priorité après ce soulèvement (dont j’étais certain que nous sortirions vainqueurs) serait de découvrir ce qui était arrivé à ma famille. Pour l’instant, il était hors de question que je révèle ma véritable identité.

Mon futur compagnon d’armes et moi avons convenu d’attendre le début des combats avant d’annoncer notre plan à Pan Kapusta et de lui demander la permission de partir. Notre conversation avec lui dans la cour s’est déroulée comme nous l’espérions : après nous avoir félicités pour notre bravoure au moment où la Pologne avait le plus besoin de nous, il nous a conseillé de nous préparer le soir même en vue d’un départ le lendemain matin. Mais auparavant, nous sommes allés rejoindre les autres élèves et le personnel qui se trouvaient dans la rue. On entendait le tir nourri des armes légères et les rafales des mitrailleuses. Selon certains des garçons, les armes légères appartenaient certainement aux résistants, tandis que les mitrailleuses étaient des armes allemandes. En parcourant des yeux la rue et les immeubles, j’ai été touché de voir la multitude de drapeaux polonais de différents formats qui flottaient au vent. Ils étaient accrochés aux fenêtres, aux balcons et aux portails.

Mais le moment le plus palpitant de cette journée mémorable a été de voir passer toute une unité de combattants de la Résistance sous les acclamations de la foule. À nos yeux, ces héros étaient des anges envoyés du ciel pour nous délivrer des profondeurs de l’enfer. Ils formaient sans conteste une bande hétéroclite – durant l’Insurrection, jamais je n’ai vu d’unité représentant plus d’un parti politique marcher sous les ordres d’un unique commandant. La seule chose qu’ils avaient en commun était ce désir brûlant de vengeance qui se lisait sur leurs visages.

The Holocaust Survivor Memoirs Program

Arthur Ney

Survivor Video

More Information

Map

Born
June 25, 1930 Warsaw, Poland

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigrated
1948 Montreal, Quebec

Arthur Ney, a twelve-year-old smuggler outside the Warsaw ghetto walls when the ghetto uprising began in the spring of 1943, fled to the countryside with false papers to work on a farm. Almost a year later, he returned to Warsaw and faced the realization that his family was gone. Under the protection of the Salesian Fathers as a “Christian” boy, he struggled with loneliness, guilt, fear and indecision regarding his “dual identity.” When the Warsaw Uprising began on August 1, 1944, then fourteen-year-old Arthur Ney joined the barricades and fought the Germans – W Hour is the code name for the Uprising.

About Arthur

Arthur Ney was born in Warsaw on June 25, 1930. He came to Canada in 1948 and settled in Montreal, where he married and raised a family. Arthur Ney passed away in 2016.

Photos and Artifacts

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Arthur's mother, Pola Ney-Holcman, holding newborn Arthur. Warsaw, 1930.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Jerzy Ney, Arthur’s father.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    The Ney family in wintery Warsaw. Left to right: Arthur's mother, Pola; Arthur; and his father, Jerzy; standing in front: Arthur’s sister, Eugenia. Poland, 1932.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Arthur and Eugenia, Poland, c. 1933.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Arthur's parents, Pola and Jerzy Ney.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Arthur (in front) with his family. Left to right: his father, Jerzy; sister, Eugenia; mother, Pola; and Arthur’s paternal grandmother, Henia Ney. Poland, 1936.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Fourteen-year-old Eugenia, Arthur's sister, in Warsaw in 1939, just before the war.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Arthur at the Eiffel Tower with his aunt Ronia (centre) and uncle Józiek after the war. Paris, 1947.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Summer vacation with friends at YMCA Camp Otoreke in the Laurentians. Arthur is in front, centre. Ste. Adolphe de Howard, Quebec, circa 1950.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Arthur (left) with his cousin Benjamin Roskies, whose family sponsored Arthur’s immigration to Canada. Montreal, 1952.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Arthur's first wife, Susan, with their son Stephen. Montreal, 1957.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Arthur with one-year-old son David (left) and five-year-old Stephen.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Arthur's reunion with Franciszek Puchała, the farmer who sheltered Arthur in Runów in 1943. Poland, 1988.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Arthur's reunion with Father Ignaczewski, the rector of the Salesian orphanage that gave Arthur a home in 1945. Szczaki, 1988.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Arthur back in Warsaw in 1988.

  • Arthur Ney  larger image and caption

    Arthur with students at the Montreal Holocaust Memorial Museum, 2012.

The Book

Cover of W Hour

W Hour

Two close calls in one day were enough for me. I realized that the uprising was not like the games I played with Józek before the war. This was a very real battle, in which people were being killed and wounded.

Explore more of Arthur’s story in Re:Collection

More Survivors

Close

W Hour

Preparing to Fight

Summer was fast approaching, and along with it, the powerful Soviet army. Air raids were now a daily occurrence. The sirens began as soon as the German air defence detected planes over Warsaw, followed by the powerful German anti-aircraft searchlights crisscrossing the sky. Shortly after that we heard the roar of planes and saw the brightly coloured bullets of the anti-aircraft guns mingling with the beams of the searchlights; the scene was spectacular. We began a new game of gambling on the fate of each plane and on the number of hits the gunners would score, but the Soviet planes heading for Berlin flew too high.

After witnessing a few of these air raids, my excitement took the form of a constantly gurgling stomach. My emotional state was fed by rumours, predictions, speculations and some limited facts about what was going on around us. The wilder rumours included stories that the Americans were going to drop thousands of paratroopers into the middle of Warsaw; that the Soviet army was already on the other side of the Vistula River, preparing to coordinate their ground attack with the American paratrooper drop; and that the partisans were planning to come into Warsaw from the forests and seize the bridges to facilitate the Soviet troops’ entry into the city. This last piece of gossip turned out to be based on an actual agreement between the Polish underground and the Soviet army.

August 1, 1944 was filled with excitement and confusion. Father Stefanowski asked me to walk to a certain address to pick up hosts for communion, and I was thrilled to be able to see for myself what was going on in the streets. I saw groups of young men and women, as well as some older adults, standing near walls that had been recently plastered with posters of different sizes. After ensuring that there were no German soldiers or Gestapo agents around, I stopped to read one that called on the Polish people to rise up, to join one of the resistance groups fighting for the liberation of Warsaw and Poland. The poster proclaimed that the “holy war” was only a few hours away. Other posters stated that the Soviet army and Polish contingents would be crossing the Vistula to join the uprising.

Highly excited and fighting tears of joy, I saw numerous young men with guns hanging from their shoulders under open jackets. Many of them wore red and white armbands embossed with the initials of a political party. They didn’t have uniforms, but to me they looked like the best dressed and equipped soldiers I had ever seen. They looked at their watches every few minutes, which confirmed to me that the uprising would, as some of the posters had promised, start at 4:00 p.m. that day.

When I arrived at my destination, I checked the posters again to see how much time I had left, and I ran back through streets that were now empty of normal traffic. The usual German foot patrols were conspicuously absent. Open troop carriers raced through the streets, sirens screaming, filled with heavily armed German soldiers. Huge machine guns, with chains of bullets hanging from their load- ing sides, were mounted on the front and back of these trucks.

News of the uprising was already public knowledge at the institu- tion. We were told to get ready for 4:00 p.m., now only a few hours away. As one of the oldest boys I had few friends close to my age, but we all started talking about what to do. It quickly became obvious that we each had a different plan and in the end only one other boy and I wanted to join the army. I was thrilled at the prospect of fighting for liberation and revenge, but what I couldn’t discuss with anyone was that my first priority after the uprising — which I assumed would succeed — would be to find out what had happened to my family. For now, I couldn’t give up my false identity.

My would-be comrade-in-arms and I agreed that we would wait for the first signs of engaged battle before telling Pan Kapusta of our plans and asking for his permission to leave. The meeting with him in the courtyard went the way we had hoped — he congratulated us on our bravery in Poland’s hour of need. He suggested that we prepare everything that night and leave the following morning. For the moment, we joined the rest of the students and adult personnel outside on the street. Our ears were bombarded by the constant sound of small-arms and machine-gun fire. Some boys were sure that the small-arms fire came from underground fighters and that the heavier machine guns were still in German hands. As I scanned the street and the buildings, I was touched by the sight of many different sizes of Polish flags suspended from windows, balconies and gates, all fluttering in the breeze.

The most compelling sight on that unforgettable first day, however, was a platoon of resistance fighters coming toward us. The onlookers broke into jubilant cheers. To us, these heroes were angels come to deliver us from the depths of hell. They were without doubt a motley crew — at no time during the uprising did I see units of more than one political party marching together under one commander. The only thing they had in common was the look in their eyes, burning with the desire for revenge.