Le Programme des mémoires de survivants de l’Holocauste

Anka Voticky

Survivor Video

More Information

Map

Né(e)
05 juillet 1913 Brandýs nad Labem, Tchécoslovaquie

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigré(e)
1948 Montreal

Tandis que l’armée d’Hitler envahit la Tchécoslovaquie en 1940, Anka Voticky, son mari Arnold, ses deux enfants et sa famille trouvent un refuge inattendu à l’autre bout du monde : Shanghai. Loin de tout ce qui leur était familier, leurs existences sont encore une fois menacées quand l’occupant japonais enferme les réfugiés juifs dans un ghetto. Après la guerre, la prise de pouvoir par les communistes en Tchécoslovaquie contraint les Voticky à quitter l’Europe et à entreprendre un autre voyage déchirant, cette fois-ci pour se rendre en lieu sûr au Canada. Les mémoires d’Anka Voticky nous fournissent l’occasion rare de prendre la mesure de l’impact de la Seconde Guerre mondiale dans sa globalité.

À propos de Anka

Anka Voticky est née en 1913 dans la petite ville de Brandýs nad Labem, dans l’Empire austro-hongrois, et sa famille a déménagé à Prague, en Tchécoslovaquie, en 1918. En 1948, elle et les siens ont fui le régime communiste tchécoslovaque pour venir s’établir à Montréal. Anka est décédée en 2014 à l’âge de 100 ans.

Photos et Objets

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka, vers l’âge de un an, 1914.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka (à gauche), âgée de sept ans, et sa sœur, Liza, âgée de trois ans, avec Fanda, domestique chez les Kanturek. Prague, 1920.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka et sa famille. Prague, 1929. À l’arrière-plan, de gauche à droite : Vilda (frère d’Anka); Anka; et Erna (son frère) ; au premier plan : Max (le père d’Anka); Hedvika (sa mère); et Liza (sa sœur).

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Membres de la famille d’Arnold Voticky, le mari d’Anka. Le père d’Arnold, Hugo Voticky (à l’avant-plan, deuxième en partant de la gauche); son frère Franta (à l’arrière-plan, au centre); la femme de ce dernier, Vlasta (à l’arrière-plan, troisième en partant de la gauche); et le frère de Vlasta, Pepik Kolinsky (à l’arrière-plan, à l’extrême gauche). Prague, vers 1930.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka, âgée de 16 ans, à un bal masqué. Prague, 1930-1931.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka, âgée de 16 ans, à un bal masqué. Prague, 1930-1931.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Photo des fiançailles d’Anka et Arnold Voticky. Prague, 8 mai 1932.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka (à gauche, enceinte de son premier enfant, Milan), en compagnie de sa belle-mère, Olga Voticky (au centre), et d’Arnold. Prague, 1933.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Arnold et Anka, avec leur bébé, Milan, 1934.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka (à gauche) avec ses amies Marta Mautnerova (au centre) et Lidka Smolkova (à droite). Prague, 1936.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka (à droite) et Arnold (à l’avant-plan), en vacances avec la sœur d’Arnold, Greta (au centre), et son mari, Armin Knopfelmacher (à gauche). Spindelmühle, 1936.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Le fils d’Anka, Milan, et son cousin germain, Harry Knopfelmacher, né la même nuit que lui. Prague, 1937.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka à l’occasion d’un autre séjour de ski à Spindelmühle, 1937.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Les parents d’Anka, Max et Hedvika Kanturek, 1938.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Le fils d’Anka, Milan, âgé de quatre ans, qui essaie son masque à gaz. Prague, 1938.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Arnold Voticky, le mari d’Anka, tout juste avant le départ pour Shanghai. Prague, 1940.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka et sa famille en route pour Shanghai à bord du Conte Rosso, 1940. À l’arrière-plan, de gauche à droite : Arnold, le mari d’Anka; Anka; son amie Lidka Winter; Rudla (le mari de Lidka); Erna (le frère d’Anka) et Hilda (la femme d’Erna). Au premier plan : Milan, le fils d’Anka; Vera, la fille d’Anka; Eva Winter, la fille de Lidka; et Eva Kanturek (la nièce d’Anka).

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Les enfants d’Anka : Milan (à gauche), Vera (au centre) et la nièce d’Anka, Eva Kanturek (à droite), à Shanghai.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Officiels tchécoslovaques au consulat de la Tchécoslovaquie, avec le fils d’Anka, Milan (à l’extrême gauche). Deuxième en partant de la gauche : Vladimir Taussig, attaché militaire au consulat ; deuxième en partant de la droite : le chef scout ; et, à l’extrême droite : le major Stepan, consul tchécoslovaque. Shanghai, 1941.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Milan, le fils d’Anka, et le major Stepan au consulat de la Tchécoslovaquie à l’occasion d’une célébration de l’anniversaire de naissance de Tomás Masaryk. Shanghai, 1941.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka achetant des œufs (au prix de 100 pour un dollar) au marché de Shanghai.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Milan, le fils d’Anka, en tenue de footballeur. Shanghai, 1942.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Milan, le fils d’Anka (rangée du centre, à l’extrême droite) avec son équipe de football. Erna, le frère d’Anka (à l’arrière-plan, à gauche) était leur entraîneur. Shanghai, 1942.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Liza, la sœur d’Ana (au centre), alors qu’elle était superviseure à la Maison de la Tchécoslovaquie dans le Ghetto de Hongkou. Shanghai, 1943.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Les Voticky devant la maison qu’ils ont fait construire dans le ghetto de Hongkou. De gauche à droite : Vera, Arnold, Anka et Milan. Shanghai, 1945.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Certificat d’inoculation d’Anka, délivré par le gouvernement chinois, 1946.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka (à gauche) avec Fanda, la domestique de ses parents, après la guerre. Prague, 1947.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Michael, le troisième enfant d’Anka et d’Arnold, encore bébé. Montréal, 1950.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Michael, le fils d’Anka, vers l’âge de deux ans et demi. Montréal, 1952.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Michael, le fils d’Anka (à l’avant-plan, au centre) et sa classe à l’Institut français évangélique. Montréal, 1959.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Arnold Voticky, le mari d’Anka. Montréal, 1972.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Plaque de rue à Prague, en face du Cimetière juif, portant le nom de Voticky. Photo prise par la petite-fille d’Anka en 2005.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka et Akira Kondo, membre du mouvement religieux japonais Beit Shalom, venu à Montréal en compagnie du Shinonome Chorus (Makhelat Hashachar). Montréal, octobre 2006.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka et Yoshi Tamura, membre du mouvement religieux japonais Beit Shalom, venu à Montréal en compagnie du Shinonome Chorus (Makhelat Hashachar) en mai 2006. En octobre 2006, Yoshi Tamura est revenu à Montréal pour y enregistrer le témoignage d’Anka à titre de survivante de l’Holocauste.

Le livre

Cover of Frapper à toutes les portes

Frapper à toutes les portes

Le danger était imminent… Nous désespérions de parvenir à trouver un refuge sûr

Explorer l'histoire de Anka dans Re:Collection

More Survivors

Close

Frapper à toutes les portes

La tristement célèbre Kristallnacht est survenue le 9 novembre 1938. Cette manifestation prétendument spontanée contre les Juifs dans tous les territoires occupés par les nazis avait en réalité été soigneusement planifiée. Le monde entier s’est indigné devant un tel déferlement de haine et de violence, et les protestations ont fusé de toutes parts. Quelques semaines plus tard, la Grande-Bretagne a offert refuge à des enfants juifs, une initiative humanitaire appelée Kindertransport. Notre fils Milan et son cousin Harry, tous deux âgés de 4 ans à peine, avaient été inscrits sur une liste, mais l’idée de laisser partir de si jeunes enfants nous a fait changer d’avis.

Beaucoup d’Allemands ayant également réprouvé ces mesures si destructrices, si violentes, les nazis ont compris qu’ils devaient empêcher un tel événement de se reproduire – du moins publiquement. Si certaines personnes s’opposaient aux mauvais traitements infligés à un sympathique marchand du voisinage, d’autres estimaient que cela devait se faire, mais à l’insu du monde. Cette dernière position constituerait la politique officielle des nazis jusqu’à la fin.

Peu après notre mariage, Arnold avait ouvert une bijouterie avec mon frère Erna. Avant Noël 1938, mon mari a néanmoins décidé de fermer le commerce à Prague et l’a vendu pour presque rien au frère d’un de ses amis, Cenek Sykora. Le transfert de propriété a eu lieu le 1er janvier 1939. Cette décision s’est imposée d’elle-même à la suite d’un incident avec un mendiant. Mon mari donnait régulièrement des aumônes le vendredis. Un jour, le mendiant en question en a insolemment demandé davantage. Pour toute réponse, Arnold a calmement et silencieusement remis l’argent dans son tiroir. Le mendiant est alors allé à la porte du magasin et s’est mis à crier aux passants que le Juif était en train de le battre. Une foule a commencé à s’est massée devant l’entrée. Mais, heureusement, des policiers qui connaissaient mon mari ont emmené le mendiant et mis fin à l’incident sans tarder. Pour Arnold, toutefois, cet épisode indiquait clairement, une fois encore, que les temps changeaient : ce qui subsistait de la République ne durerait pas bien longtemps....

À la fin du mois de février 1939, Arnold a envoyé en Suisse mon frère Vilda, avocat célibataire, pour qu’il s’occupe de certaines transactions financières en son nom – Arnold avait fait sortir de l’argent et des bijoux du pays par des gens qui recevaient 25 cents pour chaque dollar passé. Vilda devait attendre en Suisse que les passeurs lui remettent l’argent qu’il devait ensuite déposer dans une banque du pays. Lorsqu’il nous a téléphoné pour nous dire qu’il avait accompli sa tâche et qu’il rentrait chez nous, Arnold lui a demandé de rester sur place encore un peu. Vilda a eu de la chance : quelques jours plus tard, le 15 mars 1939, les nazis ont occupé la Tchécoslovaquie. Au moins l’un d’entre nous se trouvait dans le monde libre.

Impossible d’oublier ce jour déprimant où l’Europe centrale a vu disparaître sa dernière oasis de démocratie. Mon mari avait eu raison d’envisager la fuite : « Partez n’importe où, disait-il aux gens, partez aussi loin que possible ».

En ce terrible mercredi 15 mars 1939, Andulka est venue me réveiller à 6 heures du matin pour me dire que les troupes d’Hitler étaient en route vers Prague. Nous nous sommes levés et nous lui avons demandé de préparer une valise pour mon mari et moi. La gardienne d’enfants s’occuperait de la leur. Sans même en discuter, nous avons décidé de nous rendre chez mes parents....

Nous étions si pressés de quitter la maison que nous n’avons même pas eu le temps de prévenir mes parents de notre arrivée. Il est intéressant de voir comment l’esprit de famille s’est immédiatement mis en action. Nous avons garé notre voiture devant leur immeuble et, une heure plus tard, mon frère est arrivé avec sa femme, Hilda, et leur bébé, Eva (Erna et Hilda s’étaient mariés le 28 octobre 1937 et leur première fille, Eva, était née un an plus tard, le 29 octobre 1938). Sans nous consulter, nous nous étions tous réunis là, d’instinct. À partir de ce jour, nous sommes restés dans l’appartement de mes parents au 18, rue Celetná, en plein coeur de Prague – ils vivaient au-dessus de la bijouterie qu’Arnold avait naguère possédée. Sans tarder, mon mari a quitté l’appartement afin d’obtenir un visa de sortie pour chacun de nous. Il est revenu dans l’après-midi, découragé, n’ayant pu se procurer qu’un visa – pour lui-même. Il l’avait payé 50 000 korun, ce qui n’était pas grand-chose. À cette époque, le taux de change avait chuté d’environ 30 à 600 korun pour un dollar américain. Le document ne lui avait donc coûté qu’environ 83 dollars. Le visa était valable dix jours, mais il a dû le laisser expirer car il ne serait jamais parti sans le reste de la famille.

The Holocaust Survivor Memoirs Program

Anka Voticky

Survivor Video

More Information

Map

Born
July 05, 1913 Brandýs nad Labem, Czechoslovakia

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigrated
1948 Montreal, Quebec

As Hitler’s army swept into Czechoslovakia in 1939, Anka Voticky, a twenty-five-year-old mother of two, her husband, Arnold, and her family fled halfway around the world to an unlikely refuge – the Chinese port of Shanghai. Estranged from all that was familiar, their security was threatened yet again when the Japanese occupying the city forced the Jewish refugees into a ghetto. After the war, the Communist takeover of Czechoslovakia sent the Votickys on another harrowing journey out of Europe, this time to safety in Canada. Global in scope, Anka Voticky’s memoir provides a “rare glimpse of the far-reaching impact of World War II.”

About Anka

Anka Voticky was born in the small town of Brandýs nad Labem in the Austro-Hungarian Empire in 1913 and moved to Prague, Czechoslovakia in 1918. In 1948 she and her family fled the Communist regime in Czechoslovakia and settled in Montreal. Anka died in 2014 at the age of 100.

Photos and Artifacts

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka at about age one, 1914.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka age seven (left), and her sister, Liza, age three, with Fanda, the Kantureks’ maid. Prague, 1920.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka and her family. Prague, 1929. Left to right: (behind) Anka’s brother Vilda; Anka; and her brother Erna; (in front) Anka’s father, Max; her mother, Hedvika; and her sister, Liza.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Family members of Anka's husband, Arnold. Arnold’s father, Hugo Voticky, is in front (second from the left); his brother Franta is in the centre of the back row; Arnold’s sister-in-law, Franta’s wife, Vlasta, is third from the left in the back; and Vlasta’s brother, Pepik Kolinsky, is in the back on the far left. Prague, circa 1930.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka, age sixteen, at a masquerade ball. Prague, 1930–1931.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka, age sixteen, at a masquerade ball. Prague, 1930–1931.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka and Arnold’s engagement picture. Prague, May 8, 1932.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka (left), pregnant with her first child, Milan; her mother-in-law, Olga Voticky (centre), and Anka's husband, Arnold. Prague, 1933.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Arnold and Anka with their son Milan, 1934.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka (left) with her friends Marta Mautnerova (centre) and Lidka Smolkova (right). Prague, 1936.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka (right) and Arnold (in front) on holiday with Arnold’s sister Greta (centre) and her husband, Armin Knopfelmacher (left). Spindelmühle, 1936.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka's son Milan with his first cousin, Harry Knopfelmacher, who was born on the same night. Prague, 1937.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka on a skiing holiday in Spindelmühle, Czechoslovakia (now Czech Republic), 1937.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka’s parents, Max and Hedvika Kanturek, 1938.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Milan, Anka's son, trying on his gas mask at age four. Prague, 1938.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Arnold, Anka's husband, just before leaving for Shanghai. Prague, 1940.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka with her family on the way to Shanghai on the SS Conte Rosso, 1940. Left to right (behind) her husband, Arnold; Anka; her friend, Lidka Winter; Lidka’s husband, Rudla; Anka’s brother Erna; and his wife, Hilda; (in front): Milan, Anka's son; Vera, Anka's daughter; Eva Winter, Lidka's daughter; and Eva Kanturek, Anka's niece.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka's children Milan (left) and Vera (centre) and her niece Eva Kanturek (right) in Shanghai.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Czech officials at the Czech consulate in Shanghai, 1941, with Anka's son Milan (far left). Second from the left is Czech military attaché Vladimir Taussig; the Czech Scoutmaster is second from the right; and the Czech consul, Mr. Stepan, is on the far right.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Milan, Anka's son, with Mr. Stepan at the Czech consulate for a celebration of Tomás Masaryk’s birthday. Shanghai, 1941.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka buying eggs (100 for one dollar) at the Shanghai market.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Milan, Anka's son, in his soccer uniform. Shanghai, 1942.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka's son Milan (second row, far right), with his soccer team. Anka's brother Erna (third row, left), was the coach. Shanghai, 1942.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Liza, Anka's sister (centre), while she was the supervisor at Czech house in the Hongkew ghetto. Shanghai, 1943.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka and her family in front of the house they built in the Hongkew ghetto. Left to right: Anka' daughter, Vera, Arnold, Anka and her son Milan. Shanghai, 1945.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka's Chinese-government-issued certificate of inoculation, 1946.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka (left) with Fanda, her parents' maid, after the war. Prague, 1947.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka and Arnold’s third child, Michael, as a baby. Montreal, 1950.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka and Arnold's son Michael at about two and a half. Montreal, 1952.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka's son Michael (front row centre) with his class at L’Institut Françcais Évangélique. Montreal, 1959.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Arnold, Anka's husband. Montreal, 1972.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    A street sign in Prague, across from the Jewish cemetery, that carries the Voticky name. The photo was taken by Anka’s granddaughter in 2005.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka with Akira Kondo, a member of Beit Shalom Japan who came to Montreal with Makhelat Hashachar (Shinonome Chorus). Montreal, October 2006.

  • Anka Voticky larger image and caption

    Anka with Yoshi Tamura, a member of Beit Shalom Japan, who came to Montreal with Makhelat Hashachar (Shinonome Chorus) in May 2006. In October 2006 he returned to Montreal to record Anka’s testimony about her experiences in Shanghai.

The Book

Cover of Knocking on Every Door

Knocking on Every Door

There was a feeling of imminent danger… we were all subject to the mad and ever-changing rules of Hitler’s Germany. We were desperate to find a safe haven.

Explore more of Anka’s story in Re:Collection

More Survivors

Close

Knocking on Every Door

The Gathering Storm

November 9, 1938, was the infamous night now known as Kristallnacht. This supposedly spontaneous demonstration against Jews in all the Nazi-occupied lands was, in reality, carefully planned. The world was shocked by the vicious display of hatred and violence, and there were protests from the free world. England subsequently offered a haven for Jewish children called the Kindertransport [German for Children’s Transport, it was a government-sanctioned but privately financed initiative to bring German Jewish children to Britain that rescued nearly 10,000 children under the age of seventeen between December 1938 and September 1939]. Our son Milan and his cousin Harry, both only four years old, were registered to go but we changed our minds about letting such small children go and took them off the list.

Many Germans were shocked by the destruction and brutality as well and the Nazis realized that such an event should not be repeated — at least not under public scrutiny. Some people didn’t approve when they saw a kindly neighbourhood merchant being beaten up, but there were others who felt that it should be done, but out of the public view. The latter was the official belief that the Nazis held until the end.

Not long after Arnold and I were married, he had opened a jewellery store in partnership with my brother Erna. Before Christmas 1938, my husband decided to close the jewellery business in Prague and sold it for next to nothing to the brother of his friend, Cenek Sykora. The transfer took effect on January 1, 1939. Arnold made this decision on the spur of the moment after an incident with a beggar. Arnold had regularly maintained the practice of distributing alms from the store on Fridays. On this particular occasion, the beggar insolently demanded more. In response, Arnold calmly and silently slid the money back into the drawer. The beggar went to the store entrance and screamed into the busy street that the Jew was beating him. A big crowd gathered, but fortunately, some police officers who knew my husband picked up the beggar and quickly ended the whole incident. But to Arnold, this was another clear sign that times were changing and that what was left of the republic would not last much longer…

At the end of February 1939, Arnold sent my brother Vilda, who was a lawyer and not married, to Switzerland to arrange some money matters for him — Arnold had sent money and jewellery out of the country through people who were paid twenty-five cents for every dollar they smuggled out. Vilda was to wait in Switzerland to receive that money from the couriers and then deposit it in a Swiss bank. When my brother called to say that he was coming home because everything had been accomplished, Arnold told him to stay a few more days. He was lucky — a few days later, on March 15, 1939, the Nazis occupied Czechoslovakia. At least one of us was in the free world.

The day that the last remaining island of democracy in Central Europe disappeared was depressing and unforgettable. It confirmed that my husband had been right in his efforts to leave. “Go anywhere,” he would tell people, “go as far as possible.”

On that terrible Wednesday, March 15, 1939, Andulka woke me up at six in the morning and told me that Hitler’s troops were on their way to Prague. We got up and I asked her to pack a suitcase for my husband and me. The nanny was to pack a suitcase for the children. Without discussion, we decided to go to my parents.

We had left our home in such a hurry that we hadn’t even had a chance to tell my parents that we were coming.

It’s interesting to see how our family’s sense of togetherness immediately came into play. Our car was parked in front of my parents’ building and an hour later, my brother arrived with his wife, Hilda, and their baby, Eva. Erna and Hilda had gotten married on October 28, 1937, and their first daughter, Eva, was born a year later on October 29, 1938. We had all instinctively gathered there, without having called each other first. From that day on, we lived in my parents’ apartment on 18 Celetná Street, in the centre of Prague — it was upstairs from the jewellery store that Arnold had owned. As soon as we arrived, Arnold left the house to try to get exit visas for all of us. He came back that afternoon, discouraged because he had only managed to secure one exit visa — for himself…The exit visa was valid for ten days, but in the end he had to let it expire because he wouldn’t leave without the rest of the family.