Le Programme des mémoires de survivants de l’Holocauste

Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro

More Information

Map

Né(e)
18 novembre 1925 Tornyospálca, Hongrie

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

immigré(e)
1957 Toronto

Zsuzsanna Fischer est jetée dans la tourmente quand l’Allemagne commence à occuper la Hongrie et brise le cours de son enfance paisible. Au printemps 1944, alors qu’elle est envoyée dans des ghettos puis à Auschwitz, Zsuzsanna trouve refuge auprès de celles qui ont toujours été présentes dans sa vie, ses grandes sœurs. Voici un aperçu de l’amour féroce d’une sœur et de l’incroyable épreuve qu’elle a traversée pour survivre.

À propos de Zsuzsanna

Zsuzsanna Fischer est née en 1925 à Tornyospálca, en Hongrie. Après la guerre, elle s’est mariée à Joseph Spiro, survivant de l’Holocauste. Ils ont vécu à Budapest avec leurs deux fils jusqu’à l’insurrection de 1956 – un événement relaté par Zsuzsanna dans son journal – et ont émigré au Canada en 1957. Zsuzsanna Spiro est décédée à Toronto le 17 août 2016.

Photos et Artefacts

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Le grand-père paternel de Zsuzsanna, Elias, avec son père Ervin et ses oncles Laszlo et Miklos. Kisvárda, vers 1900.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Gizella (Funk) Fischer, la mère de Zsuzsanna. Date inconnue.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna à l’âge de 10 ans (troisième en partant de la gauche) avec ses frères Endre (tout à gauche) et Tibor, et sa grande sœur Klara. Tornyospálca, vers 1935.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    La famille Fischer avant la guerre. Debout au second plan, de gauche à droite : Klara, Endre, Tibor et Zsuzsanna. Devant : leur mère Gizella et leur père Ervin. Kisvárda, 1942.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Le journal que Zsuzsanna a commencé à écrire à Leipzig, en Allemagne, 1945.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna (tout à gauche), Tibor et Klara avec leur père Ervin, après la guerre.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna à Kisvárda, 1946.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    À Budapest, 1949.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Photo du mariage de Zsuzsanna (Susan) et Józsi (Joseph) Spiro. Budapest, 11 Septembre 1949.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna et Józsi, 1983.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna avec un chandelier de l’ancienne synagogue de Kisvárda.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna et Józsi, 2010.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Avec ses enfants et petits-enfants, en 2013. Au second plan, de gauche à droite : Jason, Eli, sa belle-fille Frances et ses fils Peter et David. Au premier plan, de gauche à droite : Zsuzsanna, Hannah, sa belle-fille Rachel avec Shoshana, Devorah, Jacob et Ariel.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Lors de la célébration de la Préservation de la Mémoire de 2014, en compagnie de Fran Weisman (tout à gauche), la bénévole qui l’aidée à écrire ses mémoires, et les petits-enfants de Zsuzsanna, Ariel, Devorah, Jacob, Shoshana et Hannah.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna montre le numéro qu’on lui a tatoué à Auschwitz-Birkenau.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Cérémonie d’illumination de bougies lors du Jour commémoratif de l’Holocauste, 2015.

Le livre

Cover of In Fragile Moments (Traduction française à venir)

In Fragile Moments (Traduction française à venir)

Je ne suis plus celle que j’étais… L’espoir est tout ce qu’il me reste.

More Survivors

Close

In Fragile Moments (Traduction française à venir)

Tout a changé à jamais

Le 19 mars 1944 restera à jamais gravé dans ma mémoire. C’est à cette date que notre horrible avenir a été scellé. Ce jour-là, les Allemands ont envahi Budapest et pris le contrôle de la Hongrie. Le bruit courait que les Juifs vivant à la campagne étaient plus en sécurité que ceux de Budapest, mais hélas, c’était faux. La plupart des Juifs qui avaient quitté Budapest en croyant qu’ils seraient en sécurité ont péri à Auschwitz. Les Hongrois chrétiens, nos « chers » concitoyens, nous ont laissés à la merci des Allemands. Ceux qui étaient nos amis sont devenus nos ennemis et nous ont tourné le dos comme si nous avions la peste. De nouvelles lois contre les Juifs ont été mises en place. L’une d’elle stipulait que tous les Juifs devaient porter une étoile jaune. Je me souviens du jour où l’on a reçu l’ordre de porter cette étoile comme si c’était hier et, depuis lors, je déteste le jaune. Pendant des journées, je ne suis pas sortie de la maison, non que j’avais honte d’être juive, mais parce que je me sentais attaquée au plus profond de moi. Plus ils s’en prenaient à nous, plus j’étais fière d’être juive, mais je ne sortais que si c’était vraiment nécessaire. Malgré mes 18 ans, je ne voulais voir personne. Tout m’énervait. Je n’avais pas conscience que j’aurais dû profiter de ces moments car mon univers allait basculer dans les semaines à venir. Je ne savais pas que je vivais les derniers jours où nous étions encore réunis, mes parents, ma sœur Klari, mon frère Tibi et moi. Comment imaginer que le diable était sorti de l’enfer?

Début avril 1944, durant la Pâque, la population juive des villages alentours a été conduite au ghetto de Kisvárda. Ces pauvres gens n’ont eu le droit d’emporter que des vêtements de rechange et un peu de nourriture. Fin avril, nous aussi avons dû quitter notre domicile et rejoindre le Ghetto qui avait été mis en place dans le quartier le plus densément peuplé de Juifs, celui qui entoure la synagogue et les rues Csillag et Petőfi. Tous les Juifs vivant dans un rayon de trente à quarante kilomètres de Kisvárda ont été conduits et entassés dans ce Ghetto au périmètre si réduit.

Chacun en ville savait où se trouvait le Ghetto. Il était gardé par des gendarmes hongrois et des barrières en fermaient les voies d’accès. Par chance, ma famille avait des proches qui habitaient dans une rue du Ghetto et nous avons pu loger chez eux. Nous dormions par terre et devions partager notre espace avec des inconnus. Personne n’avait sa propre chambre. Je ne me souviens pas comment nous parvenions à nous nourrir car on ne nous ravitaillait pas. Comme il n’y avait rien à faire au Ghetto, j’aidais les mères à s’occuper de leurs enfants et je rendais aussi service à la cuisine communale. La plupart des hommes étaient absents, envoyés dans des camps de travaux forcés. Nous vivions dans une peur croissante, mais nous gardions espoir que la situation s’améliore.

Fin mai 1944, tous les Juifs du Ghetto ont été déportés. Quelques jours avant le début des déportations, j’ai vu pour la première fois un officier allemand. Beaucoup d’autres sont arrivés peu après, et immédiatement nous ont forcés de rester debout en rangs pendant des heures, le temps qu’ils nous comptent. Ils ont établi une liste de tous les noms mais je n’en ai jamais compris la raison car, en quelques jours, beaucoup des déportés étaient morts dans l’anonymat et ceux qui étaient encore en vie et en mesure de travailler étaient devenus des squelettes méconnaissables. Nous étions réduits à n’être plus que des numéros sur les listes de nos assassins.

Les habitants du Ghetto ont été séparés en deux convois. Le premier est parti le lundi 29 mai et le second le mercredi 31 mai 1944. La rumeur disait que nous étions envoyés en Allemagne et que les plus jeunes allaient travailler pendant que les personnes âgées s’occuperaient des enfants. Nous ignorions totalement où l’on nous conduisait. Nous savions simplement qui était dans le premier convoi et que ceux de notre rue partaient avec le second. Nous étions donc heureux d’avoir encore deux jours à passer ensemble en famille. Nous avons pleuré au moment de dire au revoir à nos proches et à nos amis qui partaient avec le premier convoi et, sans savoir pourquoi, nous pressentions que nous ne les reverrions plus jamais.

Deux jours plus tard, c’était au tour des habitants du second convoi de se préparer. Nous avons dû également nous tenir debout en rangs avec les quelques sacs que nous possédions. Nous n’avions rien d’autre, mais j’aurais préféré que les Allemands nous prennent tout, y compris les vêtements sur nos morts, pour avoir le droit de rester ensemble. Je n’ai pas de mot pour décrire la situation terrible que nous vivions. Personne ne peut imaginer une telle horreur. Aujourd’hui, je ne peux retenir mes larmes en repensant aux vieilles personnes malades qui voulaient simplement mourir en paix là où elles étaient nées, ou à ces bébés innocents qui ne pouvaient faire de mal à personne mais qui sont morts du seul fait d’être nés Juifs.

The Holocaust Survivor Memoirs Program

Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro

More Information

Map

Born
November 18, 1925 Tornyospálca, Hungary

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigrated
1957 Toronto

Zsuzsanna Fischer is thrown into chaos when Germany occupies Hungary and destroys her peaceful childhood. In the spring of 1944, as Zsuzsanna is sent into ghettos and then to Auschwitz, she takes refuge in the one constant in her life – her older sisters. Get a glimpse into the fierceness of a sister’s love and her remarkable path to survival.

About Zsuzsanna

Zsuzsanna Fischer was born in Tornyospálca, Hungary, in 1925. After the war, she married Holocaust survivor Joseph Spiro. They lived in Budapest with their two sons until the 1956 Hungarian Uprising – an event that Zsuzsanna documented in a diary – and immigrated to Canada in 1957. Zsuzsanna Spiro passed away in Toronto on August 17, 2016.

Photos and Artifacts

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna’s paternal grandfather, Elias, with her father, Ervin, and her uncles, Laszlo and Miklos. Kisvárda, circa 1900.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Gizella (Funk) Fischer, Zsuzsanna’s mother, date unknown.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Ten-year-old Zsuzsanna (third from left) with her brothers, Endre (far left) and Tibor, and her older sister, Klara. Tornyospálca, circa 1935.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    The Fischer family before the war. Standing in back, left to right: Klara, Endre, Tibor and Zsuzsanna. In front: their mother, Gizella, and their father, Ervin. Kisvárda, 1942.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    The diary that Zsuzsanna began writing in Leipzig, Germany, 1945.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna (far left), Tibor and Klara, with their father, Ervin, after the war.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna in Kisvárda, 1946.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    In Budapest, 1949.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Wedding photo of Zsuzsanna (Susan) and Józsi (Joseph) Spiro. Budapest, September 11, 1949.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna and Józsi, 1983.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna with a candleholder from the former Kisvárda synagogue.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna and Józsi, 2010.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    With her children and grandchildren, 2013. In back, left to right: Jason; Eli; daughter-in-law Frances; and sons Peter and David. In front, left to right: Zsuzsanna; Hannah; daughter-in-law Rachel with Shoshana; Devorah; Jacob; and Ariel.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    At the 2014 Sustaining Memories celebration with volunteer writing partner Fran Weisman (far left), and Zsuzsanna’s grandchildren Ariel, Devorah, Jacob, Shoshana and Hannah.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    Zsuzsanna showing the number she was tattooed with at Auschwitz-Birkenau.

  • Zsuzsanna Fischer Spiro larger image and caption

    At the candle-lighting commemoration on Holocaust Remembrance Day, 2015.

The Book

Cover of In Fragile Moments

In Fragile Moments

I am no longer who I used to be... All I have left is hope.

More Survivors

Close

In Fragile Moments

When it changed, forever...

March 19, 1944, is a day that will live forever in my memory. This was the date that sealed our horrible future. On this day, the Germans invaded Budapest and took over the leadership in Hungary. There was a rumour that the Jews in the countryside would be safer than those in Budapest, but unfortunately this was not true, and most of the Jews who left Budapest, believing they would be safe, perished in Auschwitz. Our “dear” Hungarian-Christian friends left us to the mercy of the Germans. Those who were our friends became our enemies, and they turned away from us as if we had leprosy. More laws against the Jews were introduced. One of the new laws was that all the Jews had to wear a yellow star. I remember the day we were ordered to wear the star as if it happened yesterday, and ever since then I have hated the colour yellow. I didn’t go out of the house for days. I wasn’t ashamed of being Jewish, but I felt so violated. The more they hurt us, the more proud I was to be Jewish, but I still only went out on the street when I really had to. I was only eighteen years old then, but I didn’t want to see anybody. I was already fed up with everything. I didn’t know that I should have been happy because I was still together with my family – my parents, my sister, Klari, and my brother Tibi. I didn’t know that it would be only a few short weeks before things changed. How could anyone know that the devils from hell had been unleashed?

In early April 1944, during Passover, the Jewish population from the surrounding villages was taken to the ghetto in Kisvárda. They were allowed to take only a change of clothes and some food. At the end of April, we too had to leave our home and move into the ghetto, which was located in the most Jewish district of Kisvárda, by the synagogue and the surrounding area near Csillag and Petőfi Streets. All the Jewish people living within thirty to forty kilometres of Kisvárda were transported there and forced to live in the few streets of the ghetto.

Everybody knew which streets made up the ghetto. Hungarian gendarmes guarded the ghetto and the roadways were closed with barriers. Luckily, my family had some relatives who lived on a street that was part of the ghetto, so we stayed with them. We slept on the floor and had to share the room with strangers. Nobody had a separate room. I don’t remember how we managed to eat because we were not given any food. We didn’t have anything to do in the ghetto, so I helped mothers with their children and I also helped in the ghetto’s kitchen. Most of the men were not there, as they had been sent to forced labour camps. Day after day, we became more frightened, but we were still hopeful that the situation would get better.

In late May 1944, all of the Jews were deported from the ghetto. The first time I saw a German officer was a few days before the deportations. When the German officers came, we were forced to stand in lines for hours until they counted us. They made a list with the name of every person; I never understood why, because within a few days many had already died, nameless, and those who were still alive and able to work were like walking skeletons. We became numbers on the lists the murderers kept.

The people from the ghetto were divided into two transports. The first one left on Monday, May 29, and the second transport left on Wednesday, May 31, 1944. There were rumours that we were being sent to Germany and that the young people would be working while the elderly would be watching the children. We didn’t know anything about where we were going to be sent. We only knew who was going with the first transport and that our street was going to be sent on the second transport, so we were lucky that our family had two more days to be together. We cried as we said goodbye to our relatives and friends who were leaving on the first transport; although we didn’t know what to expect, somehow we felt we would never see them again.

When the second transport left two days later, it was our turn to stand in line with our few bags. We didn’t have anything else with us but I wished that the Germans had taken everything from us, even the clothes from our bodies, if only we had been allowed to stay together. I cannot express in words how terrible we felt. No one could imagine how horrific it was. To this day, when I think about the sickly elderly people who wanted only to die in peace where they had lived and the innocent babies who couldn’t hurt anyone but would die because their great crime was to be born Jewish, I cannot hold back my tears.