Le Programme des mémoires de survivants de l’Holocauste

Willie Sterner

More Information

Map

Né(e)
15 septembre 1919 Wolbrom, Pologne

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigré(e)
1948 Montreal

Pendant six années, le talent de peintre de Willie Sterner parvient à le sauver de la mort aux mains des nazis. W. Sterner doit faire face à des conditions inhumaines dans un camp de travaux forcés, ainsi qu’à la mort brutale de sa famille proche. Le sort a voulu que Sterner soit transféré à Emalia, l’entreprise d’Oskar Schindler qui le protège et fait de lui son restaurateur d’art personnel. Les Ombres du passé relate aussi le parcours de Willie et d’Eva, sa femme, qui refont leur vie au Canada. Ce récit captivant témoigne de la détermination remarquable dont W. Sterner a fait preuve pour survivre.

À propos de Willie

Willie Sterner est né à Wolbrom, en Pologne, le 15 septembre 1919. Aîné d’une famille de sept enfants, il est le seul à avoir survécu à l’Holocauste. Après la guerre, il a vécu dans des camps de personnes déplacées en Autriche, où il est devenu chef de la police juive. Willie et sa femme, Eva, ont immigré au Canada en 1948 et se sont installés à Montréal. Willie Sterner est décédé en 2011.

Photos et Objets

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Le père de Willie Sterner, Hersz Leib Sterner, soldat dans l’armée russe pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Vers 1915.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    La mère de Willie Sterner, Hinda Reizel Sterner. Vers 1921.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Hinda Reizel Sterner avec le frère de Willie, Abraham, et sa sœur, Ida, au spa où Hinda Sterner se rendait pour des traitements contre l’arthrite. Buko-Zdrój, 1928.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie Sterner à 19 ans, avec sa famille, peu avant la guerre. De gauche à droite (derrière) Willie ; la mère de Willie, Hinda ; son père, Hersz ; et son frère, Josel Meier, 16 ans ; (devant) les sœurs de Willie ; Ida, 12 ans ; Rachel, 9 ans ; Sarah, 6 ans ; Genia, 11 ans ; et son frère Abraham, 14 ans. Cracovie, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie au travail dans l’entreprise de son père, Peinture en bâtiment, décoration et enseignes. Cracovie, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie en gardien de but de l’équipe juive de soccer Gwiazda, qui faisait partie du club de sport de l’organisation Poalé Tsiyyon. Cracovie, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (à gauche) avec son ami Leon Monderer (au centre) et un autre ami, sur la Vistule. Cracovie, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (deuxième à partir de la gauche) avec ses amis Ida (extrême gauche), Sarah (deuxième à partir de la droite) et Leon devant le Palais Wawel. Cracovie, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (quatrième à partir de la droite) durant son premier été à l’école de préparation militaire. Cracovie, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (deuxième à partir de la gauche) avec son amie Ida (troisième à partir de la gauche) ; sa petite amie, Helen (deuxième à partie de la droite) ; et Leon (extrême droite). Cracovie, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (à gauche) durant son deuxième été à l’école de préparation militaire. Cracovie, 1939.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie et quelques amis pendant la guerre, portant des brassards qui les identifient comme Juifs. De gauche à droite : Joseph, Helen, Willie et Rosie. Cracovie, 1940.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Kazimiera (Kazia) Strzalka, l’amie et voisine de Willie à Wolbrom qui l’a recueilli et l’a ensuite aidé quand il était dans le camp de travail de Rakowice. Wolbrom, 1941. Elle lui a aussi donné les précieuses photos de sa famille qui se trouvent dans ce livre.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Le nom de Kazimiera Strzalka inscrit sur le mur du Jardin des Justes parmi les nations à Yad Vashem, le mémorial israélien de Jérusalem en souvenir des martyrs et des héros de l’Holocauste. Kazimiera Strzalka est la seule personne de Wolbrom qui a reçu le titre de « Juste parmi les nations » de Yad Vashem.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    L’usine d’émaillage de Schindler, la Deutsche Emailwaren Fabrik (DEF) au numéro 4 de la rue Lipowa dans le quartier Zabłocie de Cracovie. (Avec l’aimable autorisation de Noa Cafri).

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (debout, au centre) avec la force de police juive, au camp de personnes déplacées de Lichteneck. Wels, Autriche, 1945.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (à droite) avec Stefan, un soldat américain, au Camp de personnes déplacées de Lichteneck. Wels, 1945.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (à droite) au camp de personnes déplacées de Bindermichl. Linz, Autriche, 1946.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie et sa femme, Eva, à la villa impériale de l’empereur François-Joseph Ier, peu après leur mariage. Bad Ischl, Autriche, 1946.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie dans son uniforme de chef de la police juive au camp de personnes déplacées de Bindermichl. Linz, Autriche, 1946.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (au centre) marchant fièrement avec des membres de la police juive. Salzbourg, Autriche, 1946.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Carte d’identité de Willie en tant que chef de la police juive. Linz, 1946.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    La police juive de Linz-Bindermichl. Le tableau peint par Willie au centre, en haut, est un autoportrait. Linz, 1946.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (à droite) et Leon Green (à gauche) à Dachau où ils étaient allés témoigner aux procès pour crimes de guerre. 1947.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (dernier rang, deuxième à partir de la droite) avec le groupe de réfugiés venus du camp de personnes déplacées de Linz-Bindermichl afin de témoigner aux procès de Dachau pour crimes de guerre. 1947.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    (Photographie à gauche) La femme de Willie, Eva (à gauche) et sa camarade réfugiée Bella Piler à une cérémonie du souvenir à Gunskirchen, à côté du monument érigé pour commémorer les Juifs morts au camp ; (en bas à droite) la femme de Willie, Eva (à gauche); Willie (au centre); et Bella devant le monument. Gunskirchen, 1947.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie et sa femme, Eva, dans le train de Salzbourg (Autriche) à Bremerhaven (Allemagne), en route vers le Canada. 1948.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie en tant que membre de la police militaire à bord d’un bateau de transport militaire, le General M.B. Stewart, à bord duquel lui et sa femme, Eva, sont allés au Canada, 1948.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Débarquement de Willie à Halifax la veille de Rosh Hashanah, 1948.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Bar mitsvah d’Harry Sterner, le fils de Willie, à la synagogue Young Israel of Val Royal. Montréal, 1965.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Bar mitsvah d’Abie Sterner, le fils de Willie, à la synagogue Young Israel of Val Royal. Montréal, 1969.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie et sa femme, Eva, dansant à une fête. Montréal, 1970.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie dans son débit de tabac. Montréal, 1982.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie devant le monument dédié aux victimes du camp de Płaszów pendant la Marche des Vivants. Cracovie, 2000.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Le monument sur le site de l’ancien camp de la mort de Treblinka qui commémore, entre autres, les victimes juives de Wolbrom. Małkinia Górna, Pologne, 2000.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie et sa femme, Eva, (deuxième rang, au milieu), avec le groupe de la Marche des Vivants à Płaszów, en 2000.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie Sterner et sa famille. De gauche à droite (en commençant en bas à gauche) : l’arrière-petite-fille de Willie, Kaylay (assise) ; Melanie, sa petite-fille ; Seana, sa petite-fille ; Harry ; Patricia, sa petite-fille (et mère de Kaylay) ; Jessica, la fille d’Harry ; Willie ; son fils Abie ; et sa femme Eva. Montréal, 2005.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie Sterner et sa famille. De gauche à droite (derrière) : Harry, le fils de Willie ; Melanie, la fille d’Harry ; Jessica, la fille d’Harry ; Nicole, la femme d’Abie, le fils de Willie ; et Willie ; (assis devant) : Patricia, la fille d’Abie ; Seana, la fille d’Abie ; et Eva la femme de Willie. Montréal, 2005.

Le livre

Cover of Les Ombres du passé

Les Ombres du passé

J’ai été très étonné qu’Oskar Schindler, un capitaine de l’industrie allemande, s’adresse à moi non pas comme à un Juif mais comme à une personne normale…

More Survivors

Close

Les Ombres du passé

Peu après le début de la guerre, le gouvernement soviétique a ouvert ses frontières et de nombreux Juifs sont passés en Union soviétique pour échapper aux nazis. Mais beaucoup sont aussi restés sur place. Certains refusaient d’aller vivre dans un pays communiste et d’autres ne voulaient pas quitter leur maison et leurs biens durement acquis. Les anciens, qui se souvenaient de la politesse de l’occupant allemand pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, ne pouvaient imaginer les crimes dont ces soldats allaient se rendre coupables. Et beaucoup de Juifs n’avaient pas les moyens de partir car ils avaient des familles nombreuses avec des enfants en bas âge. C’était le cas de mes parents, avec sept enfants à charge, dont une fillette de cinq ans. Pour compliquer la situation, ma mère souffrait d’arthrite. Il nous était impossible de nous rendre tous en Union soviétique.Au début du printemps 1940, mes bons amis Leon Monderer et Jozef Szarp sont allés à Lwów, en Pologne sous occupation soviétique. Ils ont passé la frontière soviétique alors ouverte et ont été libérés du joug nazi. Après avoir trouvé du travail à Lwów, ils ont pris le risque de revenir à Cracovie quelques jours pour revoir leurs familles et leurs amis. Avant de retourner en zone d’occupation soviétique, Leon et Jozef m’ont rendu visite et m’ont demandé de les accompagner. Ils m’ont affirmé qu’ils avaient un bon travail pour moi et que je devrais saisir l’occasion d’échapper à l’oppression nazie. Quel tourment que cette décision ! Pouvais-je quitter ma chère famille à un moment aussi critique ? Mais je ne leur étais pas d’une grande utilité à Cracovie et j’avais la possibilité de bien m’en sortir à Lwów avec mes amis. J’ai décidé d’opter pour ma liberté. Le coeur gros, j’ai choisi de partir.

Mes parents n’ont pas remis en question ma décision ; ils voulaient que j’échappe à ce qui se passait en Pologne. Ma mère m’a préparé une valise avec des chemises, des pantalons, des chaussettes et une veste. J’étais prêt à partir. J’ai d’abord dit au revoir aux miens puis mes parents m’ont poussé vers mes amis qui attendaient près de la porte. « J’espère vous revoir bientôt », ai-je murmuré avec émotion à mes parents. Mais ensuite, je me suis retourné et j’ai vu tous les membres de ma famille côte à côte. Mes soeurs cadettes pleuraient. Cette image a été si pénible que je n’ai pas pu partir. J’ai posé ma valise par terre et j’ai dit à mes amis de s’en aller sans moi. Je leur ai déclaré : « J’espère qu’un jour nous nous retrouverons libres, mais je ne quitterai pas ma famille. »

Leon et Jozef ont été déçus, mais ils ont compris ce que je ressentais. Nous nous sommes dit au revoir et avons exprimé le souhait de nous revoir après la guerre. J’ai eu du mal à quitter mes meilleurs amis, parce que je ne pouvais m’empêcher de penser que nous ne nous reverrions jamais. Mais si j’étais parti avec eux, je ne me le serais jamais pardonné. J’étais très heureux d’avoir décidé de demeurer avec les miens. J’ai su alors que je ne les quitterais jamais et que nous ferions face ensemble aux épreuves à venir, quelles qu’elles soient. C’était là mon point de vue, le seul possible pour moi. Je regrettais seulement de ne pas être d’une plus grande utilité pour ma famille.

Je pense encore à l’époque où j’aurais pu me rendre en Union soviétique pour sauver ma vie et échapper aux Allemands. À Cracovie, nous étions pourchassés par les nazis comme des animaux dans la jungle. Nous subissions la faim, la terreur et l’humiliation. Chaque journée était une épreuve et je ne supportais pas de voir ma famille souffrir. Je me sentais impuissant, en colère et malheureux de ne pas pouvoir les aider. Si seulement nous avions tous pu fuir en Union soviétique !

The Holocaust Survivor Memoirs Program

Willie Sterner

More Information

Map

Born
September 15, 1919 Wolbrom, Poland

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigrated
1948 Montreal, Quebec

For six desperate years, Willie Sterner’s skill as a painter saved him from death at the hands of the Nazis. Faced with inhumane conditions in slave labour camps and grieving the loss of his close-knit family, Sterner relied on courage and ingenuity to hold onto his dignity. Through almost random luck, he came under the protection of the famed Oskar Schindler and became his personal art restorer. An unvarnished account of what he experienced and what he lost, The Shadows Behind Me, also follows the story of Willie and Eva – the woman he met on a death march – as they rebuilt their lives and regained hope in Canada. Gripping and moving, this is a tribute to one man’s remarkable determination to survive.

About Willie

Willie Sterner was born in Wolbrom, Poland on September 15, 1919. The eldest of seven children, he was the only one to survive the Holocaust. After the war, he lived in Displaced Persons camps in Austria, where he became chief of the Jewish police. He and his wife, Eva, immigrated to Canada in 1948 and settled in Montreal. Willie Sterner passed away in 2011.

Photos and Artifacts

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie’s father, Hersz Leib Sterner, as a soldier in the Russian army during World War I, circa 1915.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie’s mother, Hinda Reizel Sterner, circa 1921.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie's mother, Hinda, with Willie’s brother Abraham and sister Ida at the spa where Hinda went for treatments for her arthritis. Busko-Zdrój, 1928.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie, at age nineteen, with his family not long before the war. Left to right (behind) Willie; Willie’s mother, Hinda; his father, Hersz; and his brother Josel Meier, age sixteen; (in front) Willie’s sisters, Ida, age twelve; Rachel, age nine; Sarah, age six; Genia, age eleven; and his brother Abraham, age fourteen. Krakow, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie at work for his father’s contracting company, Fine Home Painting, Decorating and Sign Painting. Krakow, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie as the goalie for the Gwiazda Jewish soccer team, which was part of the Zionist Poale Zion organization’s sports club. Krakow, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (left) with his friend Leon Monderer (centre) and another friend on the Vistula River. Krakow, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (second from the left) with his friends Ida (far left), Sarah (second from the right) and Leon outside the Wawel Palace. Krakow, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (fourth from the right) during his first summer at pre-military school. Krakow, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (second from the left) with his friend Ida (third from the left); his girlfriend, Helen (second from the right); and Leon (far right). Krakow, 1938.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (left) during his second summer at pre-military school. Krakow, 1939.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie and some of his friends during the war wearing armbands that identify them as Jews. Left to right: Joseph, Helen, Willie and Rosie. Krakow, 1940.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Kazimiera (Kazia) Strzalka, Willie’s friend and neighbour from Wolbrom who gave him shelter and then helped him when he was in the Rakowice forced labour camp. Wolbrom, 1941. She also gave him the precious photos of his family in this book.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Kazimiera Strzalka’s name inscribed on one of the walls of the Garden of the Righteous Among the Nations at Yad Vashem, the Holocaust Martyrs’ and Heroes’ Remembrance Authority in Jerusalem. Kazimiera Strzalka is the only person from Wolbrom to be awarded the title of Righteous Among the Nations by Yad Vashem. She gave Willie shelter and helped him when he was in the Rakowice forced labour camp.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    The Schindler enamel factory Deutsche Emailwaren Fabrik (DEF) at 4 Lipowa Street in the Zabłocie district of Krakow. (Photo courtesy of Noa Cafri.)

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (standing, centre) with the Jewish police force in the Lichteneck Displaced Persons camp. Wels, Austria, 1945.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (right) with Stefan, a US soldier, at the Lichteneck DP camp. Wels, 1945.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (right) at the Bindermichl DP camp. Linz, Austria, 1946.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie and his wife, Eva, at the Imperial Villa of Emperor Franz Jozef I not long after their wedding. Bad Ischl, Austria, 1946.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie in his uniform as chief of the Jewish police for the Bindermichl DP camp. Linz, Austria, 1946.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (centre) proudly marching with members of the Jewish police force. Salzburg, Austria, 1946.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie’s identification card as chief of the Jewish police. Linz, 1946.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    The Linz-Bindermichl Jewish police force. The painting of Willie in the centre at the top is a self-portrait. Linz, 1946.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (right) and Leon Green (left) in Dachau to testify at the war crimes trials, 1947.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie (back row, second from the right) with the group of refugees that came from the DP camp in Linz-Bindermichl to testify at the Dachau war crimes trials. 1947.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    (Image on left) Willie's wife, Eva (left), and fellow refugee, Bella Piler, at a memorial service in Gunskirchen, standing beside the monument put up to commemorate the Jews who died in the camp; (image on right) Willie with his wife, Eva (left), and Bella in front of the monument. Gunskirchen, 1947.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie and his wife, Eva, on the train from Salzburg, Austria, to Bremerhaven, Germany, on their way to Canada, 1948.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie as a member of the military police on board the military transport ship, USS General M.B. Stewart, that took Willie and his wife, Eva, to Canada, 1948.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie landing in Halifax on the eve of Rosh Hashanah 1948.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie's son, Harry, at his bar mitzvah at Young Israel of Val Royal synagogue. Montreal, 1965.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie's son, Abie, at his bar mitzvah at Young Israel of Val Royal synagogue. Montreal, 1969.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie and his wife, Eva, dancing at a celebration. Montreal, 1970.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie in his tobacco shop. Montreal, 1982.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie at the monument to the victims on the site of the Płaszów forced labour camp during the March of the Living. Krakow, 2000.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    The monument on the site of the former Treblinka death camp that commemorates, among others, Jewish victims from Wolbrom (where Willie spent the first decade of his life). Małkinia Górna, Poland, 2000.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie and his wife, Eva (second row, middle), with the March of the Living group at Płaszów, 2000.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie with his family. Left to right (bottom left): Willie’s great-granddaughter, Kaylay (seated); Willie's granddaughter, Melanie; Willie's granddaughter, Seana; Willie's son, Harry; Willie's granddaughter (and Kaylay’s mother), Patricia; Harry’s daughter, Jessica; Willie; Willie's son, Abie; and Willie's wife, Eva. Montreal, 2005.

  • Willie Sterner larger image and caption

    Willie with his family. Left to right (behind): Willie's son, Harry; Harry’s daughter, Melanie; Harry’s daughter, Jessica; Nicole, wife of Harry's son, Abie; and Willie; (seated in front): Abie’s daughters Patricia and Seana; and Willie's wife, Eva. Montreal, 2005.

The Book

Cover of The Shadows Behind Me

The Shadows Behind Me

I was surprised that Oskar Schindler, a German industrialist, would talk to me not as a Jew but as a normal person…. I thought that I must be having a nice dream.

More Survivors

Close

The Shadows Behind Me

Occupation and Loss

Shortly after the war began, the Soviet government opened its borders and many Jewish people tried to save themselves by crossing into the Soviet Union. But a lot of Jews didn’t go. Some disliked the Communist regime and others didn’t want to leave their homes and everything else behind. Older Jews, who remembered how well the German soldiers who occupied Poland in World War i had treated them, couldn’t imagine the German evil that would emerge in World War ii. And many Jews couldn’t go to the Soviet Union because they had large families with small children. In our family, my mother was ill with arthritis and there were seven children, the youngest only five years old. It was impossible for all of us to go to the Soviet Union. In early spring 1940, my good friends Leon Monderer and Jozef Szarp went to Lwów in Soviet-occupied Poland. They went through the open Soviet border and found freedom from Nazi oppression.10 After they had found jobs in Lwów, they got a chance to come back to Krakow for a few days to see their families and friends. Before they left Krakow to return to the Soviet-occupied area, Leon and Jozef came to my house and asked me to go with them. They told me that they had a good job for me and that I should seize this opportunity to save myself from the Nazis. I had an impossibly painful decision to make. Should I leave my dear family in such a terrible time? I couldn’t be of much help to them and I had the chance to be better off in Lwów with my friends. So I decided to be free and save myself. With pain in my heart, I decided to go.

My parents agreed with my decision; they wanted me to save myself from what was happening in Poland. My mother packed a suitcase for me with shirts, pants, socks and a jacket. I was ready to go. I said goodbye to my family and my parents pushed me to go with my friends, who were standing near the door. “I hope to see you soon,” I said to them, but then looked back and saw my whole family holding onto one another. My younger sisters were crying. It was such a distressing image that I couldn’t leave. I put down my suitcase and told my friends to go without me. “I hope someday we will see each other as free people,” I said, “but I will not leave my family.”

Leon and Jozef were sorry to hear my decision, but they understood my feelings. We all said goodbye and hoped to see one another after the war. It was difficult for me to say goodbye to my best friends because I couldn’t shake the feeling that I would never see them again. But if I had gone with my friends, I would never have forgiven myself. I was so glad that I decided to stay with my family. I knew then that I could never leave my family behind and that I didn’t care what happened as long as I was with my loved ones. It was the only way. I was only sorry that I couldn’t be more helpful to them.

I still think about that time when I could have gone to the Soviet Union to save my life and escape the Germans. In Krakow, we were hunted by the Nazis as animals are hunted in the jungle. We suffered from hunger, terror and humiliation. It was exhausting to get through each day and it was unbearable to watch my family suffering. Not being able to help them made me feel helpless, angry and miserable. If only my family could have gone to the Soviet Union.