Le Programme des mémoires de survivants de l’Holocauste

Elsa Thon

Survivor Video

More Information

Map

Né(e)
10 janvier 1923 Pruszków, Pologne

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

immigré(e)
1980 Toronto

Ambitieuse et volontaire, Elsa Thon, 16 ans, travaille comme apprentie photographe dans sa ville natale, Pruszków, en Pologne, lorsque les nazis envahissent son pays en 1939. Elle mobilisera toute son intelligence et son énergie durant les terribles années d’occupation, durant lesquelles elle ira de ghetto en ghetto, rejoindra un mouvement de jeunesse sioniste et sera recrutée par la Résistance juive. Elsa Thon affrontera les multiples dangers avec une maturité hors du commun. Récit du passage de l’enfance à âge adulte, Que renaisse demain s’enrichit d’un art de conter hérité de la tradition familiale.

À propos de Elsa

Elsa Thon est née le 10 janvier 1923 à Pruszków, en Pologne. Après la Libération, elle a épousé Mayer Thon, un tankiste soviétique, et en 1948, le couple s’est installé en Israël. En tant que survivants de guerre, ils ont obtenu en 1955 l’autorisation d’immigrer en Argentine, où ils ont vécu jusqu’à leur arrivée au Canada en 1980. Elsa Thon vit à Toronto.

Photos et Artefacts

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    La tante d’Elsa, Dina (au centre), avec ses enfants, avant la guerre. De gauche à droite, les cousins d’Elsa : Toby, Marysia, Benjamin et Itzhak. Pruszków, vers 1930.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa Thon (à l’arrière-plan, deuxième à partir de la gauche), à l’âge de 12 ans. Photo d’école. Pruszków, 1935.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    La sœur d’Elsa, Regina. Photo prise par Elsa, 14 ans, à l’époque où elle travaillait au studio de photographie Abramowicz. Pruszków, 1937.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Studio de photographie Bielec, à Cracovie, où Elsa a travaillé de 1942 à 1943. Crédit photo : Elwina Pokrywka.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa et son mari, Mayer Thon, après la guerre. Łódź, 1946.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa, la mi-vingtaine. Israël, vers 1948.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa et ses enfants, Sonia et Nathan. Vers 1954.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Les enfants d’Elsa en compagnie de membres de sa famille élargie en Argentine. À l’arrière-plan, le fils de son cousin Benjamin, Sergio; au centre, la fille de Benjamin, Berta (à gauche), et la fille d’Elsa, Sonia; et à l’avant-plan, le fils d’Elsa, Nathan (à gauche) et la petite-fille de Benjamin, Diana. Buenos Aires, vers 1956.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Susanna Synalewicz, la fille de Benjamin, le cousin de Elsa.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa et ses enfants, Sonia et Nathan, en Argentine. Vers 1965.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa, son mari, Mayer, et son fils, Nathan, en Argentine. Milieu des années 1970.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Nathan, le fils d’Elsa, lors de l’obtention de son diplôme de l’Université de Buenos Aires, avec sa femme, Lucia.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    La famille Thon peu après l’arrivée de son fils Nathan à Toronto au milieu des années 1980. De gauche à droite : Mayer, le mari d’Elsa; Naomi, sa petite-fille; Sonia, sa fille; Lucia, sa belle-fille; Elsa; et Nathan, son fils. Assis à l’avant-plan : Joshua (à gauche) et Jonathan, ses petits-fils.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    L’amie d’enfance d’Elsa, Halina, avec sa famille à Toronto dans les années 1980.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    La famille Thon dans les années 1990.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa, sa fille, Sonia, et sa petite-fille, Naomi, le jour où Sonia a obtenu son doctorat de l’Université de Toronto.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa, lors d’une séance de signature de la version espagnole de ses mémoires. Buenos Aires, 2000.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa et sa famille lors de l’inauguration du monument honorant les victimes de l’Holocauste érigé au parc Earl Bales par la Société canadienne de Yad Vashem; le nom de ses parents y a été gravé. À l’arrière-plan : Joshua, son petit-fils; et Nathan, son fils; à l’avant-plan : Elsa; Lucia, sa belle-fille; et Mayer, son mari. Toronto, 2001.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Allocution d’Elsa lors de la Journée dédiée à la mémoire des victimes de l’Holocauste. Derrière Elsa, à l’extrême gauche : Art Eggleton, alors député fédéral canadien. Toronto, 2002.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    La petite-fille d’Elsa, Naomi, avec Mayer, le mari d’Elsa, et Nathan, son fils, le jour de Rosh Hashanah. Toronto, vers 2005.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Mayer, le mari d’Elsa; leurs petits-fils, Joshua et Jonathan; et leur fils, Nathan. Toronto, vers 2006.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa et son mari, Mayer. Toronto, 2007.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa Thon. Toronto, 2007.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa, son mari, Mayer, et leur famille le jour où leur petit-fils Joshua a été admis au barreau. De gauche à droite : la femme de Joshua, Cindy; Joshua; la femme de Jonathan, Lauren; le petit-fils d’Elsa, Jonathan; Sonia, la fille d’Elsa; Nathan, le fils d’Elsa; et la femme de Nathan, Lucia. Toronto, 2012.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    L’arrière-petit-fils d’Elsa, Matthew.

Le livre

Cover of Que renaisse demain

Que renaisse demain

Seul un miracle pouvait me sauver. Quel Dieu entendrait ma prière ? Je vivais dans l’imposture. Je circulais avec de faux papiers. Je mentais continuellement. Je n’étais pas celle que je disais être. Mais je désirais vivre.

Explorer l'histoire de Elsa dans Re:Collection

More Survivors

Close

Que renaisse demain

Elsa entre en Résistance

Au milieu de l’été 1942, nous revenions des champs un jour lorsque quelqu’un m’a dit que Leah demandait à me voir. Je l’ai donc rejointe aux cuisines, où elle bavardait avec une femme. Il s’agissait d’Irena Adamowicz, l’une des dirigeantes du mouvement scout polonais. Indignée par les injustices commises envers les Juifs, elle faisait son possible pour aider. Elle parcourait le pays, établissant des contacts avec les haloutzim dans les grands ghettos, les informant du travail de la Résistance. Bien qu’il ait été dangereux pour les Juifs de se déplacer, quelques haloutzot – comme Lonka, qui était passée à la ferme auparavant – parvenaient également à mener à bien leurs missions de messagères. Ces agents et agentes de liaison achetaient des armes qui étaient ensuite introduites dans les ghettos par les égouts. Il était très difficile de communiquer d’un ghetto à l’autre, pour discuter notamment des actions à prendre en cas de massacre, mais grâce à Irena, on savait comment les autres se préparaient.

Irena s’est entretenue avec moi un moment pour m’annoncer qu’on m’envoyait à Cracovie. Après m’avoir demandé ce que je pensais de la Résistance, elle a voulu savoir si je connaissais des prières chrétiennes. Je lui ai répondu que j’en avais appris beaucoup par coeur, car à l’école catholique que j’avais fréquentée durant des années, les élèves récitaient leurs prières tous les matins. Irena semblait satisfaite de mes réponses. Elle m’a ensuite donné l’adresse d’un couvent où je devais envoyer une lettre à la mère supérieure le septième jour de chaque mois pour faire savoir que j’étais toujours en vie. Toutes les fois que la Résistance aurait besoin de moi, on me ferait signe. Elle m’a également remis un livre de prières en disant simplement : « Sois prudente et bonne chance. » C’est le seul conseil que je recevrais. Le reste de ma formation, je l’acquerrais par moi-même sur le terrain. Je devais m’en remettre à ma seule intuition pour me sortir de situations dangereuses, tout comme le font les animaux ; ils ne réfléchissent pas au danger, ils le sentent proche et tâchent de l’éviter.

Le lendemain, des membres de la Résistance se sont organisés pour que Hela et moi nous rendions au village afin de nous faire photographier en vue de la préparation de nos papiers d’identité. Dvora m’avait prêté une jolie blouse et m’avait coiffée pour l’occasion. En traversant le village, Hela et moi craignions à tout moment qu’on nous reconnaisse comme Juives. Puis le photographe m’a surprise en me demandant mon nom de famille. Prise de court, j’ai lancé le premier nom qui m’est venu à l’idée : Elżbieta Orlanska. Et c’est ce nom à consonance aristocratique qui est apparu sur mes faux papiers. C’était un coup de chance, car il m’a été très utile par la suite pour obtenir d’autres documents requis par les autorités allemandes.

Quelques jours plus tard, j’ai pris le premier train à destination de Cracovie, munie d’un faux document stipulant que je venais de Rzeszów, ainsi qu’une lettre de Leah adressée à Laban (Abraham « Laban » Leibowicz), le chef de la Résistance du ghetto de Cracovie. Hela a été envoyée dans une autre ville l’après-midi même.

J’ai appris après la guerre que tous les membres de notre groupe restés à la ferme à Czerniaków avaient été envoyés au ghetto de Varsovie environ quatre mois après mon départ pour Cracovie. En avril 1943, quand les nazis ont donné l’ordre de rassembler tous les Juifs du Ghetto en vue d’une déportation massive, certains membres du groupe, qui habitaient au 18 rue Mila et appartenaient à l’Organisation juive de combat se sont rebellés. D’autres se sont simplement dispersés. La plupart d’entre eux n’ont pas survécu.

À mes amis de Czerniaków tombés au combat lors de l’insurrection du ghetto de Varsovie et à ceux qui ont été pris en mission hors de l’enceinte, emmenés à la Umschlagplatz – le lieu de rassemblement à l’intérieur du ghetto de Varsovie – puis tués sans pitié, je rends un hommage éternel.

The Holocaust Survivor Memoirs Program

Elsa Thon

Survivor Video

More Information

Map

Born
January 10, 1923 Pruszków, Poland

Map of Mukacevo, Czechoslovakia

Immigrated
1980 Toronto, Ontario

Elsa Thon was a sixteen-year-old photographer's apprentice when the Nazis occupied her town of Pruszków, Poland. When her family was sent to the Warsaw ghetto, Elsa joined a community farm and was recruited by the Underground. Despite her deep belief in destiny, Elsa refused to bow to her fate as a Jew in war-torn Poland.

About Elsa

Elsa Thon was born on January 10, 1923, in Pruszków, Poland. After liberation, she married Mayer Thon, a Soviet tank commander, and moved to Israel in 1948. As war survivors, they were given special permission to immigrate to Argentina in 1955, where they lived until moving to Canada in 1980. Elsa Thon lives in Toronto.

Photos and Artifacts

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa's Aunt Dina (centre) with her children before the war. From left to right are Elsa's cousins Toby, Marysia, Benjamin and Itzhak. Pruszków, Poland, circa 1930.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa (back row, second from left), age twelve, in a school photo. Pruszków, Poland, 1935.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa's sister, Regina, in a photo Elsa took while working at the Abramowicz photography studio when she was fourteen. Pruszków, Poland, 1937.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    The Bielec photo studio in Krakow, where Elsa worked between 1942 and 1943. Photo credit: Elwina Pokrywka.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa and her husband, Mayer Thon, after the war. Lodz, 1946.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa in her mid-twenties. Israel, circa 1948.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa and her children, Sonia and Nathan, circa 1954.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa's children with their extended family in Argentina. In the back is her cousin Benjamin's son, Sergio; in the middle row, Benjamin's daughter Berta (left), and Elsa's daughter, Sonia; in the front row, Elsa's son, Nathan (left), and Benjamin's granddaughter, Diana. Buenos Aires, circa 1956.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Susanna Synalewicz, daughter of Elsa's cousin Benjamin.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa and her children, Sonia and Nathan, in Argentina. Circa 1965.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa with her husband, Mayer, and son, Nathan, in Argentina in the mid-1970s.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa's son, Nathan, at his graduation from university in Buenos Aires with his wife, Lucia.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa and her family soon after her son's Nathan's arrival in Toronto in the mid-1980s. From left to right: Elsa's husband, Mayer; her granddaughter, Naomi; her daughter, Sonia; her daughter-in-law, Lucia; Elsa; and her son, Nathan. Seated in front are grandsons Joshua (left) and Jonathan (right).

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa's childhood friend Halina with her family in Toronto in the 1980s.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa and her family in the 1990s.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa with her daughter, Sonia, and her granddaughter, Naomi, after Sonia was awarded her PhD from the University of Toronto.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa signing the Spanish edition of her memoir. Buenos Aires, 2000.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa and family at the inauguration of the Canadian Society for Yad Vashem's Wall of Remembrance Holocaust memorial at Earl Bales Park, where her parents' names are engraved. Her grandson Joshua and son, Nathan, are in the back row; in front are Elsa; her daughter-in-law, Lucia; and Mayer, Elsa's husband. Toronto, 2001.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa speaking at Holocaust Remembrance Day, with member of parliament Art Eggleton standing behind her on the far left. Toronto, 2002.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa's granddaughter, Naomi, celebrating Rosh Hashanah with Elsa's husband, Mayer, and Elsa's son, Nathan. Toronto, circa 2005.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa's husband, Mayer; her grandsons, Joshua and Jonathan; and her son, Nathan. Toronto, circa 2006.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Mayer and Elsa. Toronto, 2007.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa. Toronto, 2007.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa and her husband, Mayer, at grandson Joshua's admission to the bar. From left to right: Joshua's wife, Cindy; Joshua; Jonathan's wife, Lauren; Elsa's grandson Jonathan; Elsa's daughter, Sonia; Elsa's son, Nathan; and Nathan's wife, Lucia. Toronto, 2012.

  • Elsa Thon larger image and caption

    Elsa's great-grandson, Matthew.

The Book

Cover of If Only It Were Fiction

If Only It Were Fiction

Only a miracle could save me now. What God would accept my prayers? I was a fraud. I carried forged documents. I lied all the time. I wasn't who I said I was. But I wanted to live.

Explore more of Elsa’s story in Re:Collection

More Survivors

Close

If Only It Were Fiction

Elsa Joins the Resistance

In the middle of the summer of 1942, we were coming in from the fields one day when someone said that Leah wanted to see me. She was in the kitchen with another woman, chatting. Leah introduced her to me as Irena Adamowicz. Irena was a leader in the Polish scouting organization. Outraged by the injustice done to the Jews, she helped out however she could. Irena travelled across the country, making contact with chalutzim in the major ghettos and telling them about how the underground resistance operated. Although travel was dangerous for Jews, a few chalutzot, like Lonka who had come to the farm earlier, successfully fulfilled their mission as messengers too. The messengers were purchasing weapons, which then were smuggled into the ghettos through the sewers. Most people in the ghettos couldn’t communicate with others about what to do in case of a massacre but through Irena, they knew how the others were preparing for such a time.

Irena talked to me for a while. She told me that I was being sent to Krakow. She asked how I felt about resistance work and whether or not I knew Christian prayers. I told her I knew many of them by heart after so many years of hearing Catholic students saying the prayers every morning at school. She seemed satisfied with my answers. Irena gave me the address of a convent and told me to send a letter to the Mother Superior on the seventh day of every month as a sign that I was still alive. Whenever the underground needed me, they would let me know. She handed me a prayer book and said only, “Be careful and good luck.” That was the only advice I was to receive. The rest of my training would come from real-life situations. I would have to trust my intuition to keep me out of danger, just as animals do. They don’t think about it, they simply know when danger is near.

The next day, the resistance had organized for Hela and I to go to the village to have pictures taken for our identification documents. Dvora lent me a pretty blouse and combed my hair, so I would look my best. We walked through the village, afraid that someone would recognize us as Jews. The photographer took me by surprise when he asked me my surname. In shock, I didn’t think but just said the first name that came to my mind, a surname connected to the aristocracy. That name, Elżbieta Orlanska, was the one that was used in my forged documents. This was a stroke of luck because later it was useful in getting other documents required by the German authorities.

A few days later, with a forged document that stated that I was from Rzeszów and a letter from Leah for Laban, the leader of the resistance movement in the Krakow ghetto, I was sent to Krakow on the morning train. Hela was sent to another city in the afternoon.

After the war, I discovered that the rest of my group back on the farm in Czerniaków were sent to the Warsaw ghetto about four months after I left for Krakow. In April 1943, when an order came from the Nazis to concentrate all Jews in the ghetto for a massive deportation, some of the group, who were living at 18 Mila Street and belonged to the underground Jewish Fighting Organization, rebelled. Others simply dispersed. Most of them did not survive.

To my friends from Czerniaków who were killed while taking part in the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising, as well as to those on missions who were caught outside the ghetto, dragged to the Umschlagplatz – the assembly point inside the Warsaw ghetto – and killed indiscriminately, I offer my eternal homage.